Posted by: Katie | February 6, 2012

January books, February watchlist

January was all about the “print” books, both paper and electronic. I went on a couple of binges which was helped by bus and train rides.

Read

  • Alien Tango by Gini Koch – Second in the Katherine “Kitty” Katt/Alien series. I really enjoyed the development of the relationship between Kitty and Martini and her growth in her new “career”.
  • Alien in the Family by Gini Koch – Third in the KKKatt/Alien series. See previous.
  • Alien Proliferation by Gini Koch – Fourth in the KKKatt/Alien series. Ditto.
  • The Kingdom by Amanda Stevens – Second in the “Graveyard Queen” series. Releases March 27th. *LOVED*. So freaking can’t wait to try and get my hands on an ARC of the third book. This is not a romance series, though there are very strong romantic elements. I’ve taken to calling it romantic mystery, but I’m totally claiming her for a panel that I’m doing at PLA. Highly recommended.
  • In the Flesh by Portia Da Costa – First novel, but fourth story, in her “Ladies’ Sewing Circle” series of historical erotic romance. Also out on March 27th. Also *LOVED*. Seriously, I sucked this down a day after I sucked down The Kingdom. Highly recommended.
  • A Rogue by Any Other Name by Sarah MacLean – I don’t know what it is about MacLean’s books. I remember that I enjoyed the previous one I read, but I always forget how much fun I have reading her until I’m in the middle of the current story. Well, I did have a bit of trouble getting into the second of her previous trilogy, but still. This is another advanced read and is out on February 28th. It’s a spin-off from “Eleven Scandals to Start to Win a Duke’s Heart”, though you don’t have to read that story to understand Rogue’s story. Definitely recommended, and am really looking forward to the next in the series.

Reread

  • Chill of Fear by Kay Hooper – This was my first finished book of 2012 and is probably my favorite in Hooper’s Bishop series. It’s wonderfully atmospheric.
  • Open Season by Linda Howard – One of my favorites by Howard. The scene where Daisy buys the condoms is classic.
  • After the Night by Linda Howard – I haven’t read this one in a very long time. I’d forgotten how sexy it is. It’s also classic Howard with the hero, Gray, edging into “alphahole” (TM @jane_l) territory on a somewhat frequent basis.
  • Dream Man by Linda Howard – Another favorite of mine by her. Dane’s actually one of my favorite romance heroes ever.
  • Now You See Her by Linda Howard – I loved this book so much when it came out that, in addition to the hardcover I bought when it first released, I also bought 2 more hardcover copies from the remainder/bargain sale shelf a year later. This one definitely stands up, mainly due to the heroine, Sweeney.

Listened to

  • Darkfever by Karen Marie Moning – This is my first time reading the Fever series, and I decided the best way to do it would be audio. Joyce Bean reads, and you all know my love for her as a narrator. It was a bit disconcerting to hear her announce the book in her normal voice and then her narrating the story in the thick Georgia drawl used for the main character of Mac. But it works. The story is intense, and is definitely intended to be read as the first in the series as very few, if any, of the plotlines even come close to getting resolved in this book.
  • Hounded by Kevin Hearne – This is a reread for me, but the first time on audio. Luke Daniels is the narrator, and while he’s not quite what I would have envisioned for this book, he makes it work. I think this is mainly because he doesn’t quite do the character of Oberon (a talking dog who quotes Eric Cartman at one point) the way I “heard” Oberon in my head when I read the book. Still, very enjoyable.

Novella

  • None

Total read in January: 13
Total read in 2012: 13

February watchlist:

  1. Breakaway by Deirdre Martin (2/7) – I’ve like a couple of the entries in her New York Blades series, so I tend to check out the new ones and give them a chance.
  2. Timeless by Gail Carriger (2/28) – The final entry in The Parasol Protectorate series. I’ve really enjoyed this series and will be sorry to see it end.
  3. Angel’s Flight by Nalini Singh (2/28) – A collection of stories in her Guild Hunter world. Apparently three of the stories have been previously published, but I only remember reading one, so I’m anxious to get my hands on this book.
  4. A Rogue by Any Other Name (2/28) – Have already read. Loved it. Recommend it. Go get it.

Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 5,093 other followers

