Posted by: Katie | December 31, 2009

Reflecting on 2009

Over the last few days, a number of my friends and acquaintances have been saying and posting how excited they are for 2010 to start and leave 2009 behind them. I’ve even read this sentiment in the newspapers. It has been a very rough year for some of my friends, so I do understand from where they’re coming. I also realize how blessed a year I’ve had. I still have my job, I gained a new sister, I was honored to stand up for one of my best friends in her wedding, I made new friends and connections in the various spheres of my life, and I got to do one of my favorite road trips. There have been disappointments, but I’ve been lucky in that’s all they were: disappointments.

This past year I’ve also slowly started making some life changes. I’m exercising more, I’m paying more attention to my budget and cutting out expenses for services I rarely or no longer use, have tried cooking more healthful meals. I’m still not enthralled with leftovers, but I’m trying 🙂 In many ways, I have done my best to live in the moment and enjoy life as it comes. When challenges have crossed my path, I’ve stood up to them. I didn’t always succeed in conquering the challenge, but even in defeat, there are learning opportunities.

I didn’t really have many goals for this year, and I’m pretty sure I didn’t even write them down. For my own record, these are some of the things I’m most proud of:

  • Completing my first knitted adult garment, a cardigan for myself
  • Reading more than 52 books this year (I recorded at least 97, probably a few more)
  • Seeing a story of mine in a mass-released anthology
  • Participating in my first booksigning (even though I had no books to sign as they were part of a big batch that went missing)

I’ll probably post something regarding 2010 and my hopes for it tomorrow if I’m coherent enough. Until then, for those of you who still have the New Year’s celebration to look forward to (Happy New Year to those close to the International Date Line!!!), may you celebrate with loved ones and be safe.

Leave a Reply

Categories

