Posted by: Katie | February 6, 2010

January books and February watchlist

Considering this is still the first week of the month, I’m thinking I’m not doing to badly. So, books I RRL’d last month:

Read:

  • Antiques Bizarre by Barbara Allan – This is the  fourth books in the Trash ‘n’ Treasures mystery series by the husband and wife writing team of Max Allan Collins and Barbara Collins. I got it as part of LibraryThing’s Early Reviewers program. An enjoyable book, with very strong characterization. The characterization is so strong, some readers may be turned off by the main characters’ ticks and foibles. You needn’t have read the first three books to enjoy this one.
  • The Stolen Princess by Anne Gracie – The first in her Devil Riders series, this was a solid historical romance. I got it from the library after I had read the third in the series. Best for those who like their romances in series and fictional kingdoms.
  • His Captive Lady by Anne Gracie – Second in the series and just as enjoyable as the other two I read. This one would especially appeal to fans of novels set outside of the ton as the hero is a bastard and the heroine the daughter of an earl who had a baby out of wedlock. Again from the library.
  • Lead Me On by Victoria Dahl – I had my reservations about this one as I’d really liked the first in the trilogy (Talk Me Down), but couldn’t get into the second (Start Me Up). While I did like the heroine, the hero is what made the book for me because he was so comfortable in his skin. Library.
  • Proof by Seduction by Courtney Milan – I got this from the library due to a number of factors. I interact with Courtney on Twitter, I met her at the RWA conference last July, and I’ve been seeing a lot of people talking about how much they liked her novella which is related to this book. Honestly, it took me a while to get into it, but once I did, it was very good. Again, kind of like the Anne Gracie books and Lisa Kleypas’ which happen outside of the ton.
  • Fired Up by Jayne Ann Krentz – Library (yes, I’m trying to save money). It’s a JAK book. Do I need to say anything else? Okay, so you don’t know my reading habits that well. Except for a period in the late-90’s and early-00’s, JAK is a reliable romp for me, in all of her incarnations. Even the books of hers that really weren’t that great were still books I just glommed onto.
  • The Elusive Bride by Stephanie Laurens – I bought this book as it’s a mass market paperback. The second in her Black Cobra Quartet, this one spent most of the story outside of England. Like JAK, Laurens is pretty much an auto-read for me at this point, but if I had a quibble at all, it was that the hero and heroine could have been a bit more open about their feelings with each other. Actions don’t always speak louder than words.

Short story (this is the first year I’ve kept track of the short stories I’ve read):

  • This Wicked Gift by Courtney Milan in the “The Heart of Christmas” anthology – Perfect for those who want a historical romance completely outside of the ton. I liked that the heroine worked in a bookstore. The story was a bit on the dark side, but it worked well for me. Library.

Reread:

  • Your Scandalous Ways by Loretta Chase – I blame Smart Bitches Sarah and Candy for getting me hooked on Chase. I really like this book because the hero and heroine don’t apologize for who they are or the choices they’ve made. Set entirely in Venice. My copy.

Listened to:

  • Flying Too High by Kerry Greenwood – This is the second in the Phryne Fisher series, but the first I’ve read/listened to. I’ve got a thing for cozy-ish mysteries set in the 1920’s, so this worked great for me. It took me a bit to clue into that this was set in Australia and not England.

Total: 9 novels and 1 short story. I’ve got two “did not finish” or DNF’s in there, too, but one I’ll definitely be going to back to later this year, and the other, I might.

For February’s watchlist:

  1. Sizzle by Julie Garwood – still on hold at the library
  2. Street Game by Christine Feehan – still on hold at the library
  3. The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan – On hold at the library. I’ve heard it’s more middle grade than YA (prefer MG over YA when reading non-adult books), and I’m a sucker for Greek mythology. And all the ads for the movie have sucked me in enough to check it out.
  4. Slow Heat by Jill Shalvis – Already bought and in my TBR pile. I won an ARC of the first book in this series last summer from SB Sarah, and I loved it. This is next after I finish the book I’m currently rereading.
  5. Fantasy in Death by JD Robb – 30th full-length entry into the series. I’ll be buying it as I own all the others, and have been reading the series since Month 1.

In order to meet the 104 books aspiration, I’ll need to RRL an average of just under 9 books a month. I’m not planning on counting short stories towards that goal at this time. At this point, I’m well on track to meet the goal.

Leave a Reply

Categories

