Posted by: Katie | March 2, 2010

February books & March watchlist

One of the many reasons I collect books is so I can reread my favorites. For some people, the concept of rereading makes as much sense as Martians landing and offering interstellar peace. One of the biggest reasons I reread is for comfort. There is a lot I could say about February, but I’ll let the number of books in my reread section speak for itself.

Starting with March, I’m going to be picking up a lot more books in the aid of a friend on an award committee. I served on this same committee during its inaugural year, and wish I had thought of the concept of screening readers myself. I debated with myself on noting them somehow, but ultimately decided not to as it will be my friend’s decision to go forward in the process with the book or not. I will note what I did and/or did not like about them as I have been with my regular reads.

Read

  • Slow Heat by Jill Shalvis – The sequel to last year’s Double Play (which I won in a giveaway by SB Sarah), this lived up to my hopes and I breezed through it. Even though it came out in February, this is definitely a perfect beach/vacation read for the summer for those of you who stock up.
  • Sizzle by Julie Garwood – I finished this. I’m not sure if I would call it satisfying. I’m not one of those who decries Garwood’s preference for writing contemporaries these days (Mercy stays on my Keeper Shelf), but this, like her last few, is missing the spark of earlier titles. I’ve seen authors fall off the rails and come back, so I’m not writing off Garwood quite yet.
  • Blood Ties by Kay Hooper – The latest in her Bishop/FBI Special Crimes Unit series, this one focuses on Hollis Templeton who has been a secondary member of the team in at least the last four books, and was part of the series of victims in the book in which she was introduced. Ms. Hooper began her career in romance, but with this series she has transitioned more toward the suspense end of the romantic suspense spectrum. I consider her the paranormal read-a-like for Karen Rose fans.

Reread

  • After Dark by Jayne Castle – Book one of her Ghost Hunters series, paranormal futuristic romance.
  • After Glow by Jayne Castle – Book two of her Ghost Hunters series. Features the same couple from After Dark.
  • Ghost Hunter by Jayne Castle – Book three of her Ghost Hunters series.
  • Silver Master by Jayne Castle – Book four of her Ghost Hunters series.
  • Dark Light by Jayne Castle – Book five of her Ghost Hunters series. This is the book where she also firmly ties it in to her Arcane Society series, now linking all three of her writing personas/time periods.
  • Obsidian Prey by Jayne Castle – Book six of her Ghost Hunters series.
  • Soulless by Gail Carriger – Reread in anticipation of the release of Changeless.

Listened to

  • Natural Born Charmer by Susan Elizabeth Phillips – This is also technically a reread for me. The reader, Anna Fields, was good, but there were times where her voices for the different characters seemed to blur together. This was most evident with the male characters.
  • A Presumption of Death by Dorothy L. Sayers and Jill Paton Walsh – I’ve been picking and poking my way through the Lord Peter Wimsey series on audio and in print. Edward Petherbridge did a good job with delineating all of the voices, and made for an enjoyable experience. I’ve been finding myself attracted to World War II homefront settings lately, when I can find a storyline that also appeals to me, so this fit the bill in more ways than one.

Short Story

  • Bridal Jitters by Jayne Castle – Part of her Ghost Hunters series, this falls in around the same time as After Dark and After Glow.

Total for February: 12 books and one short story with no DNFs.
Total for the year: 22 books and two short stories. Am now four books ahead of pace. I do expect that cushion to be eaten up at some point later in the year.

March Watchlist

  • Street Game by Christine Feehan – this library hold finally came in and is next on my TBR list as soon as I finish the book I’m currently rereading.
  • The Girl Who Chased the Moon by Sarah Addison Allen (3/16) – Library hold. I really enjoyed her first two, Garden Spells & The Sugar Queen. Magical realism/women’s fiction. They’re very much outside of my usual style of books, but her voice is captivating.
  • Wild Ride by Jennifer Crusie & Bob Mayer (3/16) – I currently have this on hold at the library, but I very well may end up buying it as their last collaboration, Agnes & the Hitman, is one of my very favorite books.
  • Archangel’s Kiss by Nalini Singh – my friends have been talking about her Psy/Changeling series for years, and this is the second in a her new series. I figured I should probably try her out. Library.
  • Pleasure of a Dark Prince by Kresley Cole – another one my friends talk about. Library.
  • In Bed with the Duke by Christina Dodd – I follow Christina on Twitter. Library.
  • Heart’s Blood by Gail Dayton – She’s well regarded by a few of my friends, and I want to try more steampunk thanks to another Gail a little further down the list. Library.
  • Viking in Love by Sandra Hill – Glorious mind candy. I don’t always finish her books, but I always give them a shot. Library.
  • Changeless by Gail Carriger (3/30) – I adored her debut, Soulless (go see my review from September), and this is the sequel. Totally buying, especially as it’s a mass market release.
  • Something About You by Julie James – I won a copy this morning on Twitter from Jane of Dear Author as part of the Save the Contemporary campaign she runs with Sarah of Smart Bitches, Trashy Books. The books featured on Save the Contemporary have been hit or miss for me, but when the books have hit, they’ve hit high on my internal rating scale.
Leave a Reply

Categories

