Posted by: Katie | April 5, 2010

March books, April watchlist

I figure that as long as I post these within the first week of the new month, I’m not doing too badly. I did most of my March reading at the beginning of the month. I’m tempted to track how long it takes me to read a book, but I think that would push me over the edge with keeping on top of what I’m reading.

Read

  • Street Game by Christine Feehan – I think I’d recommend this more for people who’ve been keeping up with her Ghostwalker series.
  • In Bed with the Duke by Christina Dodd – I thought this was an enjoyable read. However, by the end of the month I had *completely* forgotten what it was about. It’s likely this is because I read so many books between the time I read it and the end of the month, but I was able to clearly remember the next book I read. With that caveat, very enjoyable for those who like historical romance set in fictional countries & Scarlet Pimpernel (I almost wrote Pumpernickel) style stories.
  • Viking in Love by Sandra Hill – As I hoped, this was perfect mind candy. This one has no time travel like some of her other Viking stories. The heroine is strong, but not made out to be a bitch and the romance is spicy sweet.
  • Heart’s Blood by Gail Dayton – See my review in the previous post.
  • Something About You by Julie James – I really, really, *really* enjoyed this one. I’d rate it as an A-/A book. The hero and heroine talk out their differences and act like adults. Even better, and it took me a little bit to realize this, but the hero is the first one to say “I love you.”
  • Changeless by Gail Carriger – Nummy, nummy, nummy!! As a warning, Carriger leaves you hanging at the end, but at least Blameless will be out in September rather than having to wait a *whole year* for it, like with some other series.

Reread

  • Never Love a Lawman by Jo Goodman – I love Goodman’s books as they are very story-rich. This one’s a Western romance.
  • Absolutely, Positively by Jayne Ann Krentz – Very ’90’s-era Krentz, but fun.
  • Slightly Shady by Amanda Quick – First in her Lake/March mystery-romance trilogy.

Listened to

  • The Perfect Poison by Amanda Quick – Another technical re-read for me. This is the third historical in her Arcane Society series.
  • Wild Ride by Jennifer Crusie and Bob Mayer – I had somehow missed in the descriptions of the books that demons were involved, and it took me a little to get into the book, but I enjoyed it. This is one of those books that straddles a number of different genres (women’s fiction, romance, adventure, fantasy) and I’d almost classify it as magical realism except for the thriller/adventure factor. This is probably more easily recommended to people who are looking for “quirky” and “off-beat” books, kind of like Christopher Moore.

Total for March: 11 books with no DNF’s.
Total for the year: 33 books and two short stories. Again, well ahead of pace, but I know at some point I’ll be falling behind and it will all even out.

April Watchlist

  1. The Girl Who Chased the Moon by Sarah Addison Allen – I picked this up from the library last night, so it’s the next one up in my TBR pile.
  2. Beyond the Rain by Jess Granger – I put this on hold at the library, but can’t remember why. I really wish I’d remember to note these things down as I can’t do that in the request system. Another thing to wish for in the ideal ILS. Anyway, it’s in, so I’ll probably read that after SAA #3.
  3. Pleasure of a Dark Prince by Kresley Cole – Still on hold at the library.
  4. Burning Lamp by Amanda Quick (4/20) – The 2nd book in the Dreamlight sub-trilogy of her Arcane Society series. On hold at the library, and it’s likely I’ll end up listening to it first.
  5. Nine Rules to Break When Romancing a Rake by Sarah Maclean – Again, I can’t remember how I came across this, but I liked the title. On hold at the library.
  6. A River in the Sky by Elizabeth Peters (4/6) – The latest in Peters’ Amelia Peabody series, this one is set, I think, when Ramses is a teen. I’ll probably be listening to this on audio from the library as that’s how I “read” the rest of the series.
  7. Lion’s Heat by Lora Leigh (4/6) – I’ll probably pull this one from the library. Latest in her Breeds series.
  8. Summer of You by Kate Noble (4/6) – I saw it mentioned about three times last week so I put it on hold at the library. Historical romance.
  9. Wild Fire by Christine Feehan (4/27) – Latest in her jaguar series, on hold at the library.
  10. Savor the Moment by Nora Roberts (4/27) – Third in her Bride Quartet series. I’ll be buying.
Responses

  1. Loved, loved, loved The Girl Who Chased the Moon. LOVED it.

    • Part of this post was written last week, so I’ve actually finished TGWCTM this weekend 🙂 I really loved it, too! I have yet to be disappointed by an Allen book.

  2. I know I commented elsewhere, but I really loved The Girl Who Chased the Moon as well. Didn’t you recently read “Bet Me” by Jennifer Crusie? I thought that the male leads had some nice similarities.

    I just threw the Gail Carriger books onto my to do list. THANKS!

    • I reread Bet Me on an annual basis, at least 🙂 And you’re right, there are some definite similarities between the two. I’m glad you picked up the Carriger books! She’s on Twitter as @gailcarriger and is a total hoot.


Leave a Reply

Categories

