Posted by: Katie | June 10, 2010

May books, June Watchlist

I’m once again surprised at how many books I read this month. I know this is partially due to my acquisition of an ebook reader. Two factors appear to be in play to shorten my time spent reading an individual book: 1. I can increase font size, thereby increasing my reading speed and 2. the length of books I’ve been reading on it tend to be category length (~200 pages).

Read

  • Savor the Moment by Nora Roberts – Third in the Bride Quartet series. Enjoyable contemporary romance.
  • Burning Lamp by Amanda Quick – Latest in her Arcane Society series and second in the Dreamlight Trilogy subset. Quick-paced paranormal historical romance.
  • Pleasure of a Dark Prince by Kresley Cole – This is part of her Immortals After Dark series. It was the first one I read, and I found I had a hard time getting into it, I think because I had missed out on all of the worldbuilding done in the previous books. Once I did get into it, I enjoyed it. There is *a lot* of references to things that appear to be happening in other books at the same time. This series doesn’t seem to have an end in sight at the moment (though I’m sure the author knows exactly where she’s going), so I can’t quite recommend holding off until every title’s published.
  • To Wed a Wicked Earl by Olivia Parker – Interesting premise in that it’s the hero who is in love with the heroine. I’d rate it as a solid read, but not necessarily a standout in the historical romance subgenre. Second in her Bride Hunt Ball series.
  • Mistress by Mistake by Maggie Robinson – Steamy historical romance pushing the line of erotic romance. Some situations may disturb some readers in regards to consent of both the heroine and hero. First in a planned trilogy.
  • Yorkshire by Lynne Connolly – Historical romance/mystery set in the mid-1700’s. Fresh time period. First in an on-going (Richard & Rose) series. For those who like the development of romance between a single couple over a series with mystery plots thrown in.
  • Devonshire by Lynne Connolly – Second in the Richard & Rose series. This one deals with their wedding and smugglers.
  • Venice by Lynne Connolly – Third in the Richard & Rose series. Honeymoon, identity theft and attempt on their lives.
  • Harley Street by Lynne Connolly – Fourth in the Richard & Rose series. Return to society, and murder of the hero’s first lover who is in service to the heroine’s godmother.
  • Eyton by Lynne Connolly – Fifth in the Richard & Rose series. During the christening celebrations of the hero & heroine’s first child, it is discovered guests’ jewelry is being stolen.
  • Nothing but Trouble by Rachel Gibson – Fast-paced contemporary romance. Part of her imaginary NHL-team (Chinooks) series. Mostly enjoyable, but I thought the resolution to the romance wasn’t as powerful as could, and should, have been.
  • Lion’s Heat by Lora Leigh – Latest in her Breeds series. I’d recommend to current readers of the series and fans of steamy paranormal romance.
  • Crazy for Love by Victoria Dahl – Review forthcoming as this is one of the titles I got via NetGalley.
  • Ten Things I Love About You by Julia Quinn – Sequel to last year’s What Happens in London. I’d rate this as a comfort read. Enjoyable, and I liked the characters. One to put on a list of plus-sized heroines.
  • Married by Morning by Lisa Kleypas – Fourth in the Hathaways series. It felt more like a bridge book, and one you should read in the context of the series to fully understand the development of the hero. Enjoyable, nonetheless.

Re-read

  • None. Shocking! I know!

Listened to

  • The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie by Alan Bradley – First in his Flavia de Luce series. I actually started to read this as a friend had recommended it, but realized I’d probably get through it faster if I listened to it. The reader, Jayne Entwistle, does a fabulous job of differentiating between the characters and portraying Flavia, who is 11-years-old and very precocious when it comes to chemistry and poisons. Highly enjoyable for those who like murder mysteries set in pastoral Britain.

Total for May: 16 books with no DNF’s.
Total for the year: 57 books. In 5 months. Um, yeah. I don’t think I’ll have much problem reaching my aspiration of 104 books for the year.

June Watchlist

  1. The Forbidden Rose by Joanna Bourne (6/1) – latest in her spy series that features secondary characters from her two books that came out in 2008. Set during the French Revolution. Probably from the library.
  2. Skin Tight by Ava Gray (6/1) – sequel to last year’s Skin Game. Already own & in my TBR pile.
  3. Death Echo by Elizabeth Lowell (6/8) – Supposedly I’m supposed to be getting a copy of this from the publisher as part of the LibraryThing Early Reviewers (LTER) program. We’ll see if it actually shows up. Latest in her St. Kilda Consulting series. Library otherwise.
  4. The Brazen Bride by Stephanie Laurens (6/29) – Third in her Black Cobra Quartet series. Am really enjoying this series, though I think this may end up getting kicked down to 4th of July weekend reading. Plan to buy as it’s a mass-market paperback and I reread her frequently.
  5. One Enchanted Evening by Lynn Kurland – This should have been on April’s watchlist, but it slipped past me. I don’t know how as the hero is one who’s story I’ve been waiting on for a while. Another one I should be getting through the LTER program, but if not, I’ll be buying as I’ve got all of her other titles in the de Piaget/Macleod/McKinnon series.
  6. Moonshine by Alaya Johnson – Hold came in from the library. I have once again forgotten why I put this on hold. Looks to be vampires in NYC with a noir tone.
  7. Wild Fire by Christine Feehan – My library hold *finally* came in, so I’ll probably read it this weekend. Latest in her big cat shapeshifter series.
Leave a Reply

Categories

