Posted by: Katie | July 14, 2010

I’m in love with Joyce Bean

There. I said it. I am in love with this woman. Have I ever met her? No. But I listen to her. A lot. She’s one of the go-to ladies of romance audiobooks. If I were to ever meet her, I’d probably get just as fangirl-y as I do with the authors themselves. The reason my love for Joyce came to mind is that I saw a mention on Twitter from an audio publisher requesting reviewers to review the narrator as much as the book. If you’ve been paying attention to my monthly roundups, I do tend to do this. I realized I forgot to do this for last month’s because the first two books were ones read by Joyce. It’s come to the point, for me, that Joyce is an invisible part of the experience as I listen to the book. Her narration style gels with the authors to whom I tend to listen. I forget that not everyone knows the pleasure of listening to Joyce narrate a book.

Another narrator that I greatly enjoy, and honestly is the primary reason I am still continuing with the series, is Lorelei King who does the Stephanie Plum books. I’ve got a number of beefs with the way the series has been going, but Lorelei brings out the humor elements that hooked me in the first place.

Any of you have particular audiobook narrators you glom onto?

Leave a Reply

Categories

