Posted by: Katie | July 29, 2010

Teaching the romance genre to library school students

I would have posted this earlier, but I’ve been on the road for work the last three days, and I am wiped out! Monday night, I guest lectured on the romance genre for the Adult Popular Literature class offered by the University of Illinois’ Graduate School of Library and Information Science. I had fun and I’ve been told the class did as well. Which makes me very happy as I do attempt to be an entertaining instructor. I think people remember more when they have fun in class. The one thing about classes like this is, while I cover A LOT, I also know I’m not covering a lot and I’m always positive I missed mentioning someone I should not have forgotten about. Luckily, this class was very engaged and asked me a lot of questions so I was able to quickly address a number of topics and issues I #1: didn’t think to include, and #2 wouldn’t have had time to cover in depth anyway. So, thank you to Mary Towner for asking me to speak, and thanks to the Summer 2010 LIS 590 KKL class for putting me through my paces!

Here are the slides: Fabulous Mullets, Throbbing Members and Pounding Hearts: Or, Why on Earth Do People Read Romance Novels?

And, here are the authors mentioned during presentation (in rough credited order):

Samuel Richardson
Jane Austen
Georgette Heyer
Kathleen Woodiwiss
Jennifer Crusie
Debbie Macomber
Kristin Hannah
Gemma Halliday
Deanna Raybourn
Susan Wiggs
Nora Roberts/JD Robb
Susan Elizabeth Phillips
Lisa Kleypas
Julie James
Erin McCarthy
Karina Bliss
Sarah Mayberry
Janice Kay Johnson
Carla Kelly
Nancy Warren
Marie Ferrarella
Kasey Michaels
Ann Voss Petersen
Julia Quinn
Eloisa James
Elizabeth Hoyt/Julia Harper
Victoria Dahl
Sarah MacLean
Sherry Thomas
Meredith Duran
Dee Henderson
Karen Kingsbury
Allie Pleiter
Lori Wick
Christine Feehan
Sherrilyn Kenyon
Meljean Brook
Nalini Singh
Lora Leigh
Lauren Dane
Alison Kent
Allyson James
Shelli Stevens
Crystal Jordan
Diane Whiteside
Portia da Costa
Susan Grant
Angela Knight
Ann Aguirre/Ava Gray
CL Wilson
Shana Abè
Kay Hooper
Karen Rose
Jayne Ann Krentz/Amanda Quick/Jayne Castle
Linda Howard
Suzanne Brockmann
Kate Brady
Elisabeth Naughton
Melanie Jackson
Charlotte Brontë
Emily Brontë
Anne Brontë
Barbara Cartland
Stephanie Laurens
Loretta Chase
Tessa Dare
Maya Banks
JR Ward/Jessica Bird
Gena Showalter
Lauren Willig
Joanna Bourne
Kresley Cole
Courtney Milan
Lori Foster
Brenda Novak

Leave a Reply

Categories

