Posted by: Katie | September 6, 2010

August books, September watchlist

I sit here scratching my head because, according to what I’ve recorded in LibraryThing, I’ve only read or listened to 6 books in August. I keep thinking this can’t possibly be right. Honestly though, I think if I’m missing any books, it’s only one. I read a lot at the beginning of the month, and then it felt like I couldn’t finish anything I picked up. I returned a whole bunch of books to the library last week and I’m pretty sure I finished one of them. I wish I could remember what it was since my library doesn’t keep records of what I’ve checked out after I’ve returned them. Professionally, I prefer this as keeping permanent lists would soon overwhelm a database, and my library’s database is already overextended due to the number of other libraries that share the database. Personally, I wish I could go back even one month to see what I had 🙂 So, I’m instituting a new personal policy: if I’ve finished a book I’ve checked out from the library, it doesn’t go back until I record it as read in LT, even if I start accruing fines. Apparently, I can’t trust my memory these days.

Read

  • Last Night’s Scandal by Loretta Chase – Solid Chase. I found the main character, Olivia, to be a bit trying at times, but I enjoyed the book nonetheless.
  • The Reckless Bride by Stephanie Laurens – Not out until October. I got this through NetGalley so a review will be out closer to release. *Really* enjoyed it.
  • Wicked Intentions by Elizabeth Hoyt – First in her Maiden Lane series. This took me a little bit to get into, but once I was into it, I couldn’t put it down. This is set earlier than her Four Soldiers series, but I enjoy Hoyt’s unusual settings in both time and place.
  • Twice Tempted by a Rogue by Tessa Dare – Second in her Stud Club series. I liked it. Dare does not shy away from showing her characters’ flaws and this adds a richness to the story.
  • “Here There Be Monsters” by Meljean Brook in the Burning Up anthology – Normally, I wouldn’t include a novella in the list, and I’m not including it in the total count, but I have to mention this because it’s setting up her October release, The Iron Duke, and I thought it was a great example of worldbuilding. Romance novellas are very hit or miss with me because it’s hard to adequately set up the development and the pay-off. This is even harder to achieve when you have to do a lot of worldbuilding because the story is fantasy, paranormal, science fiction, or, in this case, steampunk, in nature as well as being the first story in a new world by the author. I think Brook hit the sweet spot of balance and crafted an entertaining and satisfying story with regards to both the worldbuilding and the romance.

Reread

  • None read completely.

Listened to

  • Wild Ride by Jennifer Crusie and Bob Mayer – A reread. See the March Books list for my thoughts.
  • Silver Master by Jayne Castle – Another reread. Narrator is Joyce Bean who is always a favorite of mine.

Total for August: 6 officially (but likely 7), and one novella
Total for the year: 80 – Again, I don’t foresee any problems with hitting the goal of 104.

September watchlist

  1. Blameless by Gail Carriger (9/1) – I was left damn near drooling for this after the end of Changeless.
  2. Warrior by Zoe Archer (9/7) – I actually picked this up when I got my copy of Blameless on the 1st. I saw a few friends talking about it on Twitter, and I was intrigued by the steampunk romance premise.
  3. Veil of Night by Linda Howard – still on hold for this at the library
  4. The Trouble with Paradise by Jill Shalvis – I put this on hold at the library after seeing it as an upcoming release from the Berkley/Jove authors newsletter, and then finding out from the author’s website that it’s a reprint. The story looks intriguing from the blurb.
Leave a Reply

Categories

