Posted by: Katie | October 1, 2010

September books, October watchlist

Posting this on the first of the following month? A miracle! Another light reading month. I had a ton of work stuff happening, namely three presentations I had to prepare for and do, and a *lot* of fiction writing got done.

Read

  • Blameless by Gail Carriger – I have loved this series from the start. With this book, it looks like the style is moving to an episodic one. This is where the Parasol Protectorate series is showing its mystery side, compared to its romance side as romance series don’t tend to evoke this feeling often.
  • Shades of Milk and Honey by Mary Robinette Kowal – *LOVED* I will be shocked if it doesn’t at least make the short list for a number of awards next year. This is Kowal’s first novel, so for those unfamiliar with her short fiction in fantasy (I wasn’t), think Jane Austen does magic.
  • Midnight Crystal by Jayne Castle – Third in her Dreamlight Trilogy, and latest in the Arcane Society and Harmony/Ghost Hunters series. As usual, I greatly enjoyed it. JAK/AQ/JC has really been hitting it for me with her books.
  • The Viking Takes a Knight by Sandra Hill – Not only fluff, but quality fluff. I can’t always read Sandra Hill because her books are on the twee end of things (think sugary sweet), but she’s never afraid to let the light-hearted side of romance take center stage.
  • One Enchanted Evening by Lynn Kurland – I finally got around to buying this after waiting for so long to receive it through LibraryThing’s Early Reviewers program. I’ve always enjoyed this series by Kurland, and have been anxiously awaiting Montgomery de Piaget’s book, but this fell a bit flat for me. No particular reason why as I found it a very solid story and very much in line with her recent entries in the series, but there wasn’t quite the spark I’ve gotten in the past from her books.
  • Warrior by Zoe Archer – First off, not steampunk. Think more Indiana Jones. Which I love. I had to set this book down for a bit as I wasn’t getting as into it as I felt I should be. When I came back to it, I enjoyed it. Not quite enough to rave about, but this is definitely going on my list of books I happily recommend to the right readers.

Reread

  • No rereads

Listened to

  • Obsidian Prey by Jayne Castle – Reread 🙂 Again, part of her Ghost Hunters series and you all know by now how much I love it.

Total for September: 7 books
Total for the year: 87 books. Even with not hitting the pace target this month and last month, with the head start I built up at the beginning of the year, I should reach 104 as long as I don’t slack off.

October watchlist:

  1. The Iron Duke by Meljean Brook (10/5) – ZOMG!!!! WANT NAO!!!! (This is the first novel in her Iron Seas series, but the first novella, “Here There Be Monsters” came out in the Burning Up anthology which I read back in August.)
Leave a Reply

Categories

