Posted by: Katie | November 21, 2010

Review roundup

I’m behind on a few reviews, so I’m going to do some quick and dirty ones.

Title: 
Lovely
Author: 
Kris Starr
Genre: 
Historical Erotica
Publisher: Carina Press
Release Date: June 21, 2010
List Price: $2.99
Format: E-book
Source: NetGalley

Review: I always have a hard time reviewing short stories. Suffice it to say, this was a good one. With erotica, the author walks a fine line of maintaining sexual tension and using sexuality to drive the story. Starr really draws it out in this story, effectively using it to mirror the character development of Lovely. This is definitely not erotic romance, and may appeal more to fans of “old skool” erotica like Nin and “new skool” Megan Hart.

Title: Miss Foster’s Folly
Author: Alice Gaines
Genre: Historical Romance
Publisher: Carina Press
Release Date: June 14, 2010
List Price: $5.99
Format: E-book
Source: NetGalley

Review: After inheriting all the cash assets from her father, Juliet Foster decides to go on a tour of Europe to explore her sensual side. She chooses David Winslow, Marquess of Derrington to be her first lover before she leaves on the next ship out of town. Too bad for her Derrington’s not the impoverished English aristocrat she had believed him to be. Or that he isn’t the heartless rake willing to just do the deed and be gone. Derrington realizes he’s met his match and sets out in pursuit of her when she slips out of town behind his back. This was a fun book full of well-rounded characters and an intriguing premise. Perfect for those looking for strong historical romances outside of the normal milieu. Also, fans of Suzanne Simmons’ Diamond in the Rough and Sherry Thomas’ work might enjoy this.

Title: The Reckless Bride
Author: Stephanie Laurens
Genre: Historical Romance
Publisher: Avon
Release Date: October 26, 2010
List Price: $7.99
Format: Mass Market Paperback
Source: NetGalley

Review: I have to admit to being a tad disappointed with this. It was an overall satisfying story, but it lacked the spark earlier books in the series had. I’m wondering if this is because I figured out the twist to the series by the end of the third book. I didn’t have the suspense of guessing who the bad guy was going to be to help drive the story. I did like having my guess confirmed, though! What did work for me was the setting descriptions. Part of this is because I’d love to go on a Rhine cruise in the future (and I did a 2-hour one back in college). I think this is one of the reasons why I keep reading Laurens. Her settings come alive for me. Her characters can read as the same as usual, but she manages to tweak them enough so they aren’t completely boring, and sometimes even animate themselves off the page. At this point, I would call this book a comfort read for Laurens aficionados and would recommend to new readers of hers who have a history of liking meaty descriptions.

Title: Undeniably Yours
Author: Shannon Stacey
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Publisher: Carina Press
Release Date: November 1, 2010
List Price: $4.99
Format: E-book
Source: NetGalley

Review: I’ve already given most of my thoughts in the October books, November watchlist report, so I’ll just go on to say, that I completely recommend this to fans of the accidental baby, one night stand blossoms into true love, and strong, loving family as secondary characters tropes.

Responses

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Katie Dunneback, sell ebooks. sell ebooks said: Review roundup: I’m behind on a few reviews, so I’m going to do some quick and dirty ones. Title: ⁰Lovel http://bit.ly/9Dfo3k […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

