Posted by: Katie | December 9, 2010

November books, December watchlist

This was a *slow* month. I attribute it to the holiday, where no reading was done due to hanging out with the family (my sis takes books away from me if I am caught with them during family time), as well as starting quite a few books that were not working for me. Basically, I lost my reading mojo. I’ve gotten it back enough that I don’t believe I’ll have a problem with hitting at least 104 for the year, but I am saddened when I don’t finish a book because I’m not feeling it. Especially when I see a lot of acquaintances reacting positively to it. I completely understand it just isn’t the book for me, but when this thing happens, I tend to get in a rut. Moving on.

Read

  • Scoundrel by Zoe Archer – Second in her Blades of the Rose series. I really enjoyed this one. I had heard a lot of good things about it, and it was one of the stories which held up for me. I actually won it in a giveaway by Tessa Dare, and happened to get it in the mail the same day the copy I’d requested from the library came in. I know a fair amount about Greek mythology, so slipping into the world was fairly seamless for me. Also, my parents went on a cruise of Turkey and the Greek Islands back in September, so thanks to their pictures I could perfectly envision the settings Archer describes. This is one of the areas where she excels, and she paints a vivid backdrop to the story. Bennett Day, the hero truly is a scoundrel, but one who is noble in heart and purpose. London Harcourt is an intelligent woman and does not shy away from hard truths even when they break her heart. Perfect for those who like tales of adventure with their romance.
  • Hunger by Jackie Morse Kessler – A young adult novel that deals with anorexia and other eating disorders by making the the protagonist the new Famine, one of the horsemen of the Apocalypse. To give you a bit of background, YA novels and I tend not to get along. In the way of the storytelling typical of them doesn’t work for me being able to immerse myself in the story. This worked for me. I’m not sure I can put my finger on it other than the very imaginative premise. This is the first in a proposed series with the next one being Rage. I may stick with it to learn more about the character of Death.
  • Happy Ever After by Nora Roberts – I gobbled this down as soon as I got my hands on it. The finale in her Bride Quartet. I greatly enjoyed this and loved learning more of Mal and Parker, as well as seeing the previous couples, but I felt this was missing the edge of emotional depth of the others. The emotions were there, but I didn’t seem to feel them as deeply. Still, a great story that pulled me out of the reading funk I had fallen into.

Reread

  • None

Listened to

  • Agnes and the Hitman by Jennifer Crusie and Bob Mayer – A reread and a relisten. This is one of my all-time favorite books. Narrator is Sandra Burr. She does a fabulous job of differentiating the characters and brings them to vibrant life.

Total for November: 4 books (plus a short story or two)
Total for the year: 98 books

December watchlist:

  1. Indulgence in Death by JD Robb – While the book was in the same shipment Happy Ever After came in, I tend to listen to this series on audio these days and I’ve got that from the library.
  2. 10 Ways to be Adored When Landing a Lord by Sarah Maclean – in from the library hold list
  3. Dukes to the Left of Me, Princes to the Right by Kieran Kramer (11/30) – I couldn’t finish When Harry Met Molly, but the main character in this one, the second in her Impossible Bachelors series, is a spy, so I’ll give it as shot.
  4. Stranger by Zoe Archer (12/7) – Last in her Blades of the Rose series
  5. In Too Deep by Jayne Ann Krentz (12/28) – Latest in her Arcane Society series and Fallon Jones’ story, so I’ll probably get this over my lunch break and have it finished sometime that night.
  6. The Lady Most Likely by Julia Quinn, Eloisa James and Connie Brockway (12/28) – I’m a fan of Quinn and James, so I’ll give this a look.
Responses

  1. Thanks for the heads up on the Quinn/James/Brockway book. The funnest read I’ve had in months. :o)

    • Woohoo! Glad to hear that as it’s next on my TBR pile after the new Krentz 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

