Posted by: Katie | January 3, 2011

December books, January watchlist

Well, I did it! I made it to, and past, reading, rereading or listening to 104 books this past year. I’ll probably do a roundup for the whole year later this week. For a bit, I thought I wasn’t going to make it, and then the last week pulled through for me with some great reads.

Read

  • Rebel by Zoe Archer – Third in her Blades of the Rose quartet. I was beginning to think I would never finish this book. I found it a bit too easy to put down, but finish it, I eventually did. It’s a good story (with some very sexy parts), but it probably could have stood to have been tightened up a bit in editing.
  • Marry Me by Jo Goodman – A sequel of sorts to last year’s Never Love a Lawman. I really enjoyed this one, as I have of many of Goodman’s recent books, but she definitely has a thing for heroines (or a significant other female character) who have been sexually abused or assaulted in some way. Just a warning if that’s a trigger point for you.
  • Stranger by Zoe Archer – The last, and very anticipated, finale of the Blades of the Rose quartet. I loved this one. This romance features a mixed race couple and I thought Archer dealt with the issues of mixed race relationships/marriages in the late 1800’s, both in the US and the UK, in a realistic and believable manner.
  • The Naked Viscount by Sally Mackenzie – Mackenzie is a total hit or miss author for me. This one worked. Funny and spicy romance.
  • In Too Deep by Jayne Ann Krentz – I gobbled this down in a night and was up way later than I should have been. Krentz in all her incarnations is a total comfort read for me, but that doesn’t blind me to faults in the story. With this story, I felt like there were bits that could have been fleshed out a bit more, but Krentz has a keen sense of pacing and I whizzed through the book without stopping to think too hard. This story is Fallon Jones’, which many have been waiting for, and is the latest in the Arcane series, and the first in the sub-series Looking Glass Trilogy.
  • The Lady Most Likely… by Julia Quinn, Connie Brockway and Eloisa James – This was an interesting book as the subtitle says it’s a novel in three parts, and it truly is. Quinn Brockway and James took an overarching story and wrote their individual contributions and then co-wrote the transitional parts. It really does read like a complete novel rather than an anthology. Thumbs up to the experiment!

Reread

  • Scandal by Amanda Quick – This is actually a half-listened to, half-read book. I started listening to it while driving home and back for Christmas, but realized that if I wanted to finish it before the Smart Bitches’ Sizzling Book Club meeting, I was going to need to finish by reading it. Quick was the author of the first “big” romance book I read, and I sucked down all of her books at that time. This was a great flash back to my high school reading years.
  • Getting Rid of Bradley by Jennifer Crusie – Stumbled back across this thanks to SB Sarah and the Sizzling Book Club discussion, and loved it all over again. Trademark Crusie, including dogs.

Listened to

  • Indulgence in Death by JD Robb – This story was a bit of a retread of a previous entry into the series (I’d have to look it up to see which one), which is cunningly acknowledged within the course of the story. I liked seeing Eve and Roarke in Ireland, but I almost feel like that section would have worked better on its own as a short story. Many people have problems with Susan Ericksen as the narrator of this series, but I’m fine with her and I think she does a good job of differentiating the characters (and the most common complaint I hear is that she goes overboard with this with Peabody in particular).

Total for November: 9 books (plus a short story or two)
Total for the year: 107 books (would have been 108, but there was one story that I just didn’t have time to finish until the 1st.)

January watchlist

  1. Skin Heat by Ava Gray (1/4) – latest in her Skin series which I am totally devouring!
  2. Here Comes the Groom by Karina Bliss (1/4) – a Harlequin Super Romance and latest pick of the Smart Bitches’ Sizzling Book Club
  3. Call Me Irresistible by Susan Elizabeth Phillips (1/18) – SEP is an auto-buy for me
  4. When Beauty Tamed the Beast by Eloisa James (1/25) – Have become addicted to James, and really enjoyed her first fairy tale book, A Kiss at Midnight, and that story’s follow up short, Storming the Castle.
  5. Archangel’s Consort by Nalini Singh (1/25) – Third novel in her Guild Hunters series, I read the second one, Archangel’s Kiss, and was intrigued. One of these days, I’m going to have to go back and read the first.
  6. Notorious Pleasures by Elizabeth Hoyt (1/25) – Second in her Maiden Lane series.
  7. I’ve got a list of books I want to reread, all of which I own.
  8. The Reading List gets announced on January 9th.
Leave a Reply

Categories

