Posted by: Katie | February 2, 2011

January reads, February watchlist

Since I don’t have an aspiration to read a specific number of books this year, I debated about keeping a count of them. However, it’s easy to count with these monthly posts, and it’ll appease that weird little part of me that insisted on taking three semester of statistics despite the fact that math makes my brain cramp. I’m also adding in the category of novellas for this year. I don’t read that many, but this will also cover any short stories I feel like reporting. The main reason there are so many books I listened to this month is because I spent a lot of time in the car. We did a family road trip from Chicago to Alabama for family events, so I got to sit in the backseat listening to audiobooks while I knitted.

Read

  • Ten Ways to Be Adored When Landing a Lord by Sarah Maclean – I got hung up on this one, which is why it’s a January read and not a December read. It’s not a bad book, and I can see why Maclean’s gaining a name for herself in the historical romance genre. There’s something about her voice that pulls me in, but doesn’t quite seem to hold me, though. I am sufficiently intrigued by one of the side storylines from this book that I plan on getting the third book in this trilogy when it comes out.
  • Skin Heat by Ava Gray – I love this series. It’s deliciously dark and has an intriguing story arc. I had to take a break with this particular entry before I could finish it, and I’m not sure why. I’m betting it was more due to my state of mind in the first half of the month more than the book, however. Anywhoodle, Gray doesn’t pull her punches with this book and she packs a lot of story into a relatively short book (for it being a single title).
  • Here Comes the Groom by Karina Bliss – I read this for the Smart Bitches Book Club for January and enjoyed it. I left behind category a while back, but Bliss is pulling me back in. This story, like Gray’s, is chock full of story for a book it’s length. I did feel some disconnect with the hero, but he’s still likeable, and the ending was littered with sequel bait. Enough so I’m hooked to watch for them.
  • Call Me Irresistible by Susan Elizabeth Phillips – I got this as part of the LibraryThing Early Reviewers program, so I’ll be writing a fuller review later. Suffice it to say, classic Phillips (though not quite up there with Match Me If You Can for me).

Reread

  • Dangerous by Amanda Quick – After finishing Scandal last month, I had to reread this book. It is the first “big book” romance I remember reading. I got it off of one of the shelving carts at the library where my mom works. I was a sophomore in high school at the time. I love the mystery/investigative trope of this book. It’s probably one of the reasons why I’m a sucker for mystery/romance mashups.
  • The Winning Hand by Nora Roberts – One night on Twitter, someone was mentioning winning the lottery. I had just finished the Bliss book, and I had the urge to reread this. It’s about a librarian who writes romance novels and at the end of her financial rope wins a progressive slot game. I read this book long before I thought of becoming a librarian, so I find it a little funny to read it today as I’m a librarian who writes romance.

Listened to

  • Scandal by Amanda Quick – I had started listening to it back in December for the Smart Bitches Book Club, but ran out of time to finish by listening. Again, I’m a sucker for Quick.
  • Chesapeake Blue by Nora Roberts – I really enjoy listening to this sequel to Roberts’ Chesapeake Bay trilogy. I don’t know if I’ve ever reread the trilogy, but I’ve listened to this book a few times over the years. It’s probably my second favorite Roberts book, at least on audio.
  • Northern Lights by Nora Roberts – And after listening to my second favorite, I decided it was high time to listen to my favorite again. I would have sworn I did a re-listen to this book, which is currently my favorite all-time audiobook full stop, every year. However, I found I didn’t have it listed since I started keeping track of what I’ve read. This may be because I didn’t keep track of what I listened to, because I would swear that I’ve listened to it at least one other time since I moved to Iowa four years ago (this week). I know I did feel a put off with the movie debacle (:flings a side-eye at LR and EC:). But the story of Nate and Meg, really, Nate, drew me back. I could probably recite parts of the book with prompting I’ve listened to it so much. The evocative descriptions of Alaska is what seals the deal for me, as well as it being primarily from Nate’s point of view.
  • Wild Ride by Jennifer Crusie and Bob Mayer – This is another addition to my regular rotation of audiobooks. It came out less than a year ago and I think I’ve listened to it at least three times. The story is just fun.

Novella

  • “Midnight Assignment” by Victoria Dahl in the Midnight Kiss anthology – A fun story I’d heard about on Twitter about FDIC agents doing a bank takeover during New Year’s. I liked the characters and believed in their HFN.
  • Under His Hand by Anne Calhoun – I won this as part of one of the December Smart Bitches Bookclub giveaways. Calhoun’s wonderful at short stories and keeps the focus in tight on the characters. Very erotic. Electronic only.

Total read in January: 12
Total read: 12

February watchlist:

  1. Primal by Lora Leigh, Ava Gray, Michelle Rowan and Jory Strong (2/1) – Interested in it mainly for the Ava Gray and Lora Leigh stories.
  2. Icebreaker by Deidre Martin (2/1) – I like her hockey series and this is a return to it.
  3. The Perfect Play by Jaci Burton (2/1) – This is the book with the infamous cover (I’ve got coverflats of it!!!!), and I do hear tell the story lives up to the cover. I read an excerpt, probably on Jaci’s site, and I liked it a lot.
  4. Unveiled by Courney Milan (2/1) – February pick for the Smart Bitches Bookclub. Milan’s voice doesn’t always work for me, so we’ll see.
  5. A Discovery of Witches by Deborah E. Harkness (2/8) – I saw this advertised in Shelf Awareness (which I don’t look at often enough) and the premise caught my eye.
  6. The Guy Next Door by Lori Foster, Susan Donovan and Victoria Dahl (2/15) – I’m interested in this for the Dahl story after reading the Midnight Assignment short. I did see on her site that this is more of a prequel to a November 2011 release rather than being a complete story in and of itself. I may wait until November to read it so I can read them back-to-back.
  7. Treachery in Death J.D. Robb (2/22) – ‘Nuff said.
Leave a Reply

Categories

