Posted by: Katie | April 26, 2011

March books

Once again, a late posting which means it’s not quite worth it for me to put together the watch list. However, I’m on vacation this week, so I’ll be starting the post for April’s books after I finish this one which means you’ll get a May watchlist. As I mentioned in the “Life Update” post back in March, I took on a new part-time job. My reading has shifted to almost exclusively romance, and books with strong romantic elements, so I can keep up with the various activities I’m doing with the job. To offset the immersion into one genre, I’m also making a point to read more reviews of books in other genres so my awareness of them doesn’t go completely off the deep end. It’s that balancing act I keep talking about 🙂 If a book is only available in electronic format, at the time of the post, I’ll mark them with (E).

Read

  • Ruthless Game by Christine Feehan -A direct sequel to Street Game, this follows the group that is trained in urban warfare. I’m still enjoying the world she’s developing with this series and I’ll keep this series on my watchlist.
  • In Good Hands by Kathy Lyons – Disclaimer: I’m friends with Kathy. This was a fun, quick read and I really liked the characters. Plus, elevator sex!
  • A Lot Like Love by Julie James – With only reading two books, James has made my autobuy list. I’m really looking forward to the sequel.
  • The Peach Keeper by Sarah Addison Allen – Yum. I’m a big fan of SAA, and you can read my review of this book here.
  • Married by Mistake by Abby Gaines – I was torn on this one. I was intrigued by the premise, but at times the writing wanted to tear my hair out as the hero and heroine came across as juvenile.
  • Sweet as Sin by Inez Kelley (E) – Again, Yum! I interviewed Kelley about this book for the part-time job, and I had a great time reading it. Perfect for those who like their romances on the emotionally dark side a la Anne Stuart.
  • Maiden Lane by Lynne Connolly (E) – I am *addicted* to the Richard and Rose series. This is the penultimate title in the series, and I’m looking forward to reading the last one which I expect will probably be out next year.
  • Wherever You Are by Sharon Cullen (E) – Time travel romance that doesn’t hold back on the gritty details of life on a pirate ship in the 1700’s.

Reread

  • Lie by Moonlight by Amanda Quick – Classic Quick historical romantic suspense.

Listened to

  • Agnes and the Hitman by Jennifer Crusie and Bob Mayer – One of my all-time favorite books.
  • Wild Ride by Jennifer Crusie and Bob Mayer – Another favorite re-listen, especially as the male and female parts are split out between narrators.
  • In Too Deep by Jayne Ann Krentz – First time listen, but technically a reread. Enjoyable as usual for the Arcane series.

Total read in March: 12
Total read in 2011: 27

Leave a Reply

Categories

