Posted by: Katie | May 4, 2011

April books, May watchlist

I’m a bit surprised with how much I’ve read this month considering I was on vacation the first week of the month, and spent it at the Romantic Times conference in Los Angeles, spent the two weeks after frantically catching up on work and preparing to go back on vacation the last week of the month (why, yes, I do have a lot of vacation I need to burn by the end of the fiscal year). With being on vacation the last week, though, I had time to actually write the bulk of this post *and* write up a watchlist for May.

Read

  • Eleven Scandals to Start to Win a Duke’s Heart – Greatly enjoyed. Read the review here.
  • The Ideal Man by Julie Garwood – Meh. I read it, which says something, as I’m not one to continue reading if I don’t have some kind of compelling reason. This isn’t out until August, so the full review, as I got it from NetGalley, will be posted around that time.
  • Faerie Fate by Silver James – This had a bit of a slow start to it, but it eventually sucked me in and I’m looking forward to reading the other books in the series.
  • Eternal Rider by Larissa Ione – *Loved*! I got this as part of one of the gift bags at RT, which is a bit funny as my roommate had a copy of it as her read for the trip. I dug it out of the mailing box when I got home and couldn’t put it down. First in a spin-off series (from her Demonica series) about the Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse.
  • Follow My Lead by Kate Noble – Very enjoyable historical romance where the bulk of the story happens while the main characters are traveling through Germany. Perfect for those looking for the non-common setting.
  • The Restorer by Amanda Stevens – Another *love*. I’ve got great feelings about this series if the author can keep the mojo going. Full review here.

Reread

  • To Die For by Linda Howard – One of my favorite rereads, and one of the few romances where the first person voice works for me.

Listened to

  • Bet Me by Jennifer Crusie – What can I say? I was still on a Jenny Crusie kick from last month. Another all-time favorite re-listen.
  • Burning Lamp by Amanda Quick – I had two days of baking to do, and I wanted to prep for the release of her newest, Quicksilver.
  • Treachery in Death by JD Robb – The latest in the In Death series, and a great one, in my opinion. I recently recommended it as an interesting study of the management/leadership/administrative skillset in the workplace.
  • Anyone But You by Jennifer Crusie – I’m not sure if I’ve ever listened to this book before. I have read it. The narrator is Susan Ericksen, the same narrator of the In Death series. I don’t think it would be a good thing to listen to the same narrator read books by different authors back-to-back again. I could hear aspects of characters from the In Deaths in the characters in Anyone But You and it was a bit disconcerting. Other than that, it was a very enjoyable listen.

Novellas

  • Journeyman’s Ride by Marie Harte – I read this for the job and really enjoyed it. I’m hoping the author sets more stories in the world as there’s a lot she can do with the world.

Total read in April: 12
Total read in 2011: 39

May watchlist:

  1. One Magic Moment by Lynn Kurland (5/3) – the latest in her de Piaget subseries of her time travel romances. I’m a huge fangirl of her books and talk her up every chance I get 😀
  2. Dragon Bound by Thea Harrison (5/3) – this has been getting a lot of buzz in my circle of romance readers as well as a slew of great reviews.
  3. Just Like Heaven by Julia Quinn (5/31) – A book about one of the infamous Smythe-Smith girls and I can’t wait to get my hands on it! (Must remember to stalk NetGalley for it <G>).
  4. My Dangerous Pleasure by Carolyn Jewel (5/31) – This one’s for the part-time job, but I’ve heard wonderful things about Carolyn’s books for years and I’ve been friendly with her for a few years now 😀
  5. Kiss of Snow by Nalini Singh (5/31) – I’m actually planning on holding off on getting this one as I’m hoping to make her signing in Chicago on 6/8. This is her break into hardcover and the latest in her Psy-Changeling series. I still haven’t read any of the books in this series, but I’m really enjoying her Guild Hunter series.
Leave a Reply

Categories

