Posted by: Katie | June 26, 2011

June books, July watchlist

Lots read this month, but tending toward short novels and novellas. Not that I’m complaining, mind you. I’ve been saving a couple of longer novels for my unanticipated vacation as I’ve taken to calling it. In addition to reading, I’ll also be strategically job hunting. I have been, but the full-time job ended on the 30th and I feel like being slightly more open about it. So, if you know of a job for a librarian with mad reader’s advisory and collection development skills, shoot me an e-mail. I am *totally* open to management positions 😀

As I’m finally getting around to posting this almost at the end of July, well, better late than never. Better update when I post my July books next week (smack me if they’re not up by next Friday).

Read

  • Hexed by Kevin Hearne – I liked this. Not quite as much as I liked Hounded, but still just as good. Hearne doesn’t hold back on shit happening to his characters if its necessary to the story. Urban fantasy.
  • Slow Hands by Leslie Kelly – Fun and spicy. I need to read more of her.
  • Baby Bonanza by Maureen Child – Pretty good. I’m betting there was a sequel to this, and if there isn’t, that’s surprising as there was plenty of sequel bait in it with the heroine’s sister.
  • Yours to Keep by Shannon Stacey (E) – Loved it. I think I heard a rumor that Shannon’s going to expand the series to write about the Maine branch of the Kowalskis.
  • Captives of the Night by Loretta Chase – This was a good book, and I got it because of something Sarah said, I think. It was a good tide me over until Chase’s latest book released.
  • Steam and Sorcery by Cindy Spencer Pape (E) – *LOVED* I’m really hoping she writes more in this world.
  • How to Tell a Lie by Delphine Dryden (E) – I picked this up because I follow the author under my alter ego on Twitter, and she mentioned that it was on sale for $.99. I was hooked with the premise of two college professors meeting through a MMPORPG. That particular trope is not used all that often, but I seem to be a sucker for it when I run across it. Turned out this was the first in a series of books.
  • Art of the Lie by Delphine Dryden (E) – Second in the series.
  • Tangled Truth by Delphine Dryden (E) – Fourth in the series. Seriously, I glommed her in less than a weekend. This series is now on my auto-buy list.

Reread

Listened to

  • Quicksilver by Amanda Quick – Reread. Loved as usual.
  • Dark Light by Jayne Castle – Ditto.
  • Wild Ride by Jennifer Crusie and Bob Mayer – Triple ditto.

Novellas

  • Photographs & Phantoms by Cindy Spencer Pape (E) – This is set after the Steam and Sorcery book, but I read this one first. I *really* want more in this world.
  • Lessons in Indiscretion by Karen Erickson (E) – *VERY* steamy. I really enjoyed it and will have to check out more by this author.
  • Naked Truth by Delphine Dryden (E) – Third in Dryden’s series that I mention above. This was a really well done short story.

Total read in June: 15
Total read in 2011: 64

July watchlist:

  1. Heartless by Gail Carriger (7/5) – Fourth in her Alexia Tarabotti series
  2. Hammered by Kevin Hearne (7/5) – Third in the Iron Druid Chronicles
  3. Skin Dive by Ava Gray (7/5) – From what I hear, the last of her Skin series that’s going to be published by Berkley 😦
Responses

  1. No rumor! Shannon has said outright that she’s writing more Kowalskis, and the next three come out in three successive months!!!!! Lots of SQUEEING over here at Maison du Chat (Now that Chez Guppy is no more).


Leave a Reply

Categories

