Posted by: Katie | August 6, 2011

July books, August watchlist

July was a weird month for me. I spent about half it at home in Chicago and it was harder adjusting to unemployment than I thought it would be, mainly due to all of the various administrative things I have and had to do relating to being unemployed. There were a couple of books I got hung up on, too, before I decided to set them aside until I was in a better frame of mind to dig into and appreciate the story. What all that means is very little (for me) read last month. I’m hoping for an uptick for August, however.

Read

  • Just Like Heaven by Julia Quinn – The first in her Smythe-Smith offshoot series. I enjoyed it. It’s a sweet, almost easy story, but with just enough tension to keep the story moving along.
  • The Naked King by Sally MacKenzie – I’d been looking forward to this one as I’d been intrigued by the excerpt of it that was posted in the back of last year’s book, The Naked Viscount. It was a good story, but it played out much differently than I expected it to.
  • Silk is for Seduction by Loretta Chase – I like how Chase treats all of her characters as grown-ups. I’m not rating this one above my favorites of hers (Lord of Scoundrels, The Last Hellion, Your Scandalous Ways), but it’s close up there.
  • In Pursuit of Eliza Cynster by Stephanie Laurens – ARC, not out until end of September, review forthcoming, second in trilogy, first in trilogy out at the end of August. Enjoyed.

Reread

  • None!

Listened to

  • Agnes and the Hitman by Jennifer Crusie and Bob Mayer – Technical reread, one of my all-time favorite books.
  • Maybe This Time by Jennifer Crusie – Technical reread. Was on a Crusie kick. Enjoyed.
  • Smokin’ Seventeen by Janet Evanovich – There is one reason, and one reason only, why I stick with this series and it is because of the narrator, Lorelei King (I’ve told this to her on Twitter, too). She brings out the humor in the series that hooked me in the first place. This is not a romance series, and I do not expect Stephanie Plum to end up with any one man in particular. HOWEVER, I do wish this was a series where every character experiences growth over the length of the series, instead of that happening to every character *BUT* the main character, who, in fact, regresses as a character. Honestly, when I heard the blurb for this book where it said “Stephanie makes a decision!!”, I was thinking Evanovich had bugged my office where I had bitched numerous times about how I think Stephanie has one of four choices to make and I do not give a damn which one she chooses as long as she just chooses one and deals with the consequences of it. : DEEP BREATH: So, to totally spoil this portion of the story, in which it’s not really any spoiler at all, but at the end of the book, Stephanie announces she has made a decision, of some sort, BUT YOU WON’T FIND OUT WHAT IT IS UNTIL THE NEXT BOOK!!!!! Seriously, if I had spent my own money on this, I’d be firing off a very irritated letter to Ms. Evanovich about how I hate being strung along for no good reason as this is a plot point that should have been addressed five, if not ten, books ago. As it is, I’ll stick with the series for as long as Lorelei King is reading it and my local library gets a copy of it on audio without my having to request it being bought.

Novella

  • Sin’s Daughter by Eve Silver – I had gotten this for free in ebook format somewhere, and finally got around to reading it. Very enjoyable and will have to check out the series it was a prequel to. Basically, reunited lovers who must explain their paranormal states to the other.

Total read in July: 9
Total read in 2011: 73

August watchlist:

  1. Changing the Game by Jaci Burton (8/2) – Sequel to The Perfect Play, and recipient of another *very* steaming cover.
  2. Storm’s Heart by Thea Harrison (8/2) – Sequel to Dragon Bound, which I loved.
  3. Canyons of Night by Jayne Castle (8/30) – Latest in her Arcane Society series and third in the sub-series The Looking Glass Trilogy.
  4. Viscount Breckenridge to the Rescue by Stephanie Laurens (8/30) – Newest in her Cynster series, and first in her sub-series The Cynster Sisters Trilogy.
  5. Good Girls Don’t by Victoria Dahl (8/30) – First in her Donovan Brothers Brewery series.
Responses

  1. I really need to start reading Victoria Dahl. I’ve heard good things about her. And I’ve had good luck finding Julie James and Courtney Milan, so she’s next on the “Give her a try” list. LOL.

  2. I loved Eve Silver’s Otherkin series. I so looking forward to the new book coming out later this month.


Leave a Reply

Categories

