Posted by: Katie | September 8, 2011

August books, September watchlist

I would have sworn that I read more books in August, but the middle of the month is a bit of a black hole. It didn’t help that my MP3 player bricked itself, so I needed to get a new one for my audiobooks. I just got that this weekend, so I expect the audiobooks to get back on track. I was also feeling a bit meh on books. There were a few that I started, but never finished. One I expect to finish, but I need to get it again from the library before I can do that. A *lot* of great books released in the last couple of weeks, and there’s some more due out next week, so I have a surfeit on my TBR pile. Now it’s just carving out the time to read.

Read

  • Storm’s Heart by Thea Harrison – The second in her Elder Races series. I really enjoyed this one, and loved Tiago. For as dark as the story can get, Harrison’s got a light tone to her voice that is making this series a lot of fun.
  • Devil’s Kiss by Zoë Archer – Yeah, this isn’t due out until December. Thank you, Zoë, for the ARC! This is the first in her new Hellraisers series, paranormal historical romance. I really liked it. I’ll do a more comprehensive review closer to release.
  • Angels’ Blood by Nalini Singh – This is the first in her Guild Hunter series, and while I’d read the other two, I’d never read this one. I’m glad I did. It very much straddles the line between paranormal romance and urban fantasy with strong romantic elements, and I think would be satisfying to readers of both subgenres.

Reread

  • None!

Listened to

  • Obsidian Prey by Jayne Castle – Technical reread. Part of my reading jag of her Ghost Hunter series.
  • Ghost Hunter by Jayne Castle – See above. Joyce Bean reads both, and I love Joyce Bean. I get a little weirded out when it’s not Joyce Bean reading Jayne Castle.

Novella

  • The Blushing Bounder by Meljean Brook in the Wild & Steamy anthology – An entry into her Iron Seas world. *Loved* it!

Total read in August: 6
Total read in 2011: 79

September watchlist:

  1. No Proper Lady by Isabel Cooper (9/1) – The premise intrigues me.
  2. Lord and Lady Spy by Shana Galen (9/1) – Another intriguing to me premise.
  3. The Wedding Affair by Leigh Michaels (9/1) – I have a soft spot for Michaels, and I have an ARC from the publisher.
  4. Archangel’s Blade by Nalini Singh (9/6) – Latest in her Guild Hunter series.
  5. Demon Marked by Meljean Brook (9/6) – I like Brook’s Iron Seas series, but I haven’t read her Guardian series, and this is the latest.
  6. Never Enough by Lauren Dane (9/6) – The combination of the secret baby and rock star tropes caught my eye.
  7. Kissing Comfort by Jo Goodman (9/6) – I love Jo.
  8. Prey by Linda Howard (9/6) – I’m sentimental toward Howard, but the last few books haven’t hit for me, and I haven’t read a couple of them at all.
  9. New York to Dallas by JD Robb (9/13) – Latest in the In Death series. You’ll pry this series from my cold dead hands.
  10. In Pursuit of Eliza Cynster by Stephanie Laurens (9/27) – I’ve already read this, and still need to review it, but noting it for people’s enjoyment.
Responses

  1. LOVED Never Enough by Dane. Really great secret baby storyline where everyone acts like the responsible adults they all are! Shocking, I know, Did you read the other books in the series? I also liked the latest in her Chase Bros/Petal, Georgia series that came out about a week before this one did. I’ve basically turned into a total sucker for a Lauren Dane contemp. LOL.

    Looking forward to Prey by Howard and NY to Dallas by Robb. REALLY looking forward to the Robb book. LOL.


Leave a Reply

Categories

