Posted by: Katie | September 28, 2011

Review: In Pursuit of Eliza Cynster by Stephanie Laurens

Title: In Pursuit of Eliza Cynster
Author: Stephanie Laurens
Genre: Historical Romance
Publisher: Avon
Release Date: September 27, 2011
List Price: $7.99
Source: NetGalley

Blurb: Bold are the kidnappers who take a Cynster woman out from under the noses of her family.

Why I chose this title: Stephanie Laurens is an author who is an automatic read for me. Ie. I’m predisposed to like her.

Review: This is the second in a trilogy. Some series you have to read in order, some you don’t, and for others it’s strongly recommended to read them in order. This series falls into the third category. I read this book before I had read the first book, and, frankly, I’m still working on reading the first book. This is because so much of what has happened in the first book is referenced in Eliza’s story, that I’ve lost the narrative impetus. As this review is supposed to be about IPoEC, however, I now wonder if someone who has read the first book would be bored in parts of the second book.

This was an interesting story from Laurens. Her heroes tend to lean heavily toward the alpha-hero end of the romance hero spectrum. The hero of IPoEC is decidedly in the beta camp of things. He steps up to doing what needs to be done to ensure Eliza’s safety with little dithering. He acknowledges what he is doing is outside of his milieu, and decides this is not something he wants to do on a regular basis, but it needs to be done now, so it will. (How’s that for a run-on sentence?) I genuinely liked both Eliza and her hero, Jeremy Carling. They struck me as a good match, and were believable as a couple. The overarching story of the trilogy was well-done and left me wishing this trilogy was one of those back-to-back-to-back ones, rather than having to wait until the end of January 2012 for the release of the finale. My one complaint, and this is something endemic to almost all of Laurens’ stories (especially the more recent ones), is that I think the story and the writing could be tightened up a bit. There were points were I felt like looking at my watch.

Final thought: Very satisfactory for long-time fans, but I would introduce this to new readers of hers in concert with the first book in this trilogy, Viscount Breckenridge to the Rescue.

Leave a Reply

Categories

