Posted by: Katie | December 11, 2011

November books, December watchlist

I am absolutely blaming the lateness of this post on the fact that I spent the last day of November and the first day of December moving halfway across the country and then started a new job a few days later. Anywhoodle, here’s what I read in November. Frankly, I thought I had read more novels, but apparently not. Not a whole lot on the watchlist for December, which means I’m going to use the time to try and catch up on the books from previous months’ lists that I still haven’t read.

Read

  • The Capture of the Earl of Glencrae by Stephanie Laurens – Finale of her Cynster Sisters trilogy. ARC I got from the publisher. Will review later.
  • Copper Beach by Jayne Ann Krentz – ARC I got from the publisher via LibraryThing’s Early Reviewers program. Will review later.
  • The Duke is Mine by Eloisa James – ARC I got from the publisher. Will review later.
  • Immortal Rider by Larissa Ione – Second in her Lords of Deliverance series. This one focuses on the sister of the group, Limos, aka Famine. This was a very interesting story. I really liked the hero, Arik (brother to one of the heroines in her earlier Demonica series), and Limos as a couple. I would say that you could read this book on its own for the romance plot, but I would strongly suggest reading Eternal Rider first to fully understand and appreciate the external plot. Ione’s got a very strong voice, which may or may not appeal to readers.

Reread

  • None

Listened to

  • Supposedly none, but I’m betting I probably forgot to note something down. That, or it really did take me a month to listen to the first book I have noted down for this category in December.

Novella

  • Under His Hand by Anne Calhoun – Technical reread. Short erotic romance story. I love how Calhoun excels with milking out all of the emotion she can in such a short story. This story deals with the issue of trust in relationships. Packs a punch emotionally and erotically.
  • Angel’s Wolf by Nalini Singh in the Angels of Darkness anthology – Yum. Short story set in her Guild Hunter world with a character from the Archangel’s Kiss story as the hero. Like any good novella set in an established series world, this is a great bonus story for fans.
  • Versed in Desire by Anne Calhoun – I loved the lyrical tone to this story, which is very important as the main character is an urban poet. I’m expecting big things from Calhoun as she gets better and better with every story I read. If you at all are interested in erotica, run out and get this story, or any of her stories.
  • Once Upon a Winter’s Eve by Tessa Dare – I haven’t read the first story in her Spindle Cove series, but that in no way interfered with my enjoyment of this novella. Highly recommended for fans of historical romance.

Total read in November: 8
Total read in 2011: 106

December watchlist:

  1. Devil’s Kiss by Zoë Archer (12/6) – I already read this one, but recommend it 🙂
  2. Daybreak by Ellen Connor (12/6) – Third in the Dark Age Dawning series. I still need to read the first two, but I have this on my list as a reminder 🙂
  3. A Place Called Home by Jo Goodman (12/6) – I’ve really enjoyed Goodman since I found her, but unlike her previous books (all historicals), this appears to be a contemporary. We’ll see if she takes her favorite trope (sexual abuse/assault of a major female character) with her into the future.
  4. A Lady Awakened by Cecilia Grant (12/27) – Raved about by SB Sarah and Jane in one of their Dear Bitches, Smart Authors podcast episodes.
  5. The Duke is Mine by Eloisa James (12/27) – Um, yeah, you know I already read this, but for those of you who want to know the release date.
Leave a Reply

Categories

