Posted by: Katie | January 13, 2012

December books, January watchlist

I honestly thought I’d read more print books in December than I apparently did. Commuting and traveling around town on mass transit has definitely upped my audiobook consumption, though.

Read

  • Heart of Steel by Meljean Brook – sequel to The Iron Duke. Loved it. The tone is very different from TID, but is appropriate to who the main characters are. I’m definitely sticking with this series and recommend it to anyone open to romance with steampunk elements and vice versa.
  • Touched by an Alien by Gini Koch – I’d seen this series advertised online in a number of places, and decided to finally check it out. It’s science fiction romance with a heavy dose of humor. This is the first in the series centering around Katherine “Kitty” Katt.

Reread

  • Devil’s Bride by Stephanie Laurens – It was $.99 in e-format and this is one of my all-time favorite books.

Listened to

  • Northern Lights by Nora Roberts – Read by Gary Littman. I really do love this audiobook. I’ve listened to it numerous times since it came out in 2006. It takes Littman a little while to settle into the female voices, but I can’t imagine anyone else reading it at this point.
  • Chesapeake Blue by Nora Roberts – Read by James Daniels. Other than the fact that I enjoy this story, I figured it was a good time to listen to it again now that I live in the area. Daniels does well in distinguishing all of the various voices, both male and female.
  • Cover of Night by Linda Howard – Read by Joyce Bean and Dick Hill. I liked that there’s separate male and female narrators for this book, though it takes a little getting used to it when you first hear it. Another frequent relisten for me.
  • All Night Long by Jayne Ann Krentz – Read by Kathy Garver and David Colacci. Coming off of Cover of Night, I was still in the mood for a dual-narrator audiobook. It had been quite a few years since I’d read this book, so it was interesting revisiting it. I’d actually remembered a great deal of the story and I might put it into my regular reread rotation.

Novella

  • True Colors by Thea Harrison – Part of her Elder Races series. Ebook. I really enjoyed this novella. It felt complete as a shorter story. Storywise, it’s not necessary to read the novels in the series, but the greater understanding of the world does add a richness.
  • Mistletoe and Margaritas by Shannon Stacey – Ebook. This is a friends-to-lovers/widow-of-my-best-friend story. Very enjoyable and sweet with just the perfect hit of steaminess.

Total read in December: 9
Total read in 2011: 115

January watchlist:

  1. Bride by Mistake by Anne Gracie (1/3) – I’ve read most of the other books in the series and found them enjoyable.
  2. Copper Beach by Jayne Ann Krentz (1/10) – First in a new series for her and recommended. Still need to write up a review of it.
  3. Capture of the Earl of Glencrae by Stephanie Laurens (1/31) – Finale of the Cynster Sisters sub-trilogy. Still need to write up a review of it.
  4. Kiss of the Vampire by Cynthia Garner (1/31) – I’m friends with the author đŸ˜€
  5. My Wicked Little Lies by Victoria Alexander (1/31) – I am *very* intrigued by the summary blurb and wonder how the author will handle it.

ETA: I knew I’d forgotten at least one book. Added in Devil’s Bride & adjust count totals.

Leave a Reply

Categories

