Posted by: Katie | May 28, 2012

February, March and April books

Nothing like the months completely getting away from you. I had a big conference to attend in February, March, April and May and have one left next week. Technically, the brain is already mush. One of the benefits, for me, of tracking my reading is that it’s a metric of my mental health. The more I read, the better frame of mind I’m in. Unlike last year, where my low reading months were due to depression, this year’s are due to stress. I’ve just been busy as all get out since mid-February. I’m looking forward to being able to catch my breath at the end of next week. We’re not even going to begin to discuss the total fail of GBC. A quick note about the audiobooks I listen to going forward: as I work for the National Library Service for the Blind and Physically Handicapped, I have access to the collection. Our books are, for the most part, not commercially available. If the audiobook is one of the books we have produced versus obtained from a commercial publisher, I will not discuss the narration style as this would be meaningless for anyone without access to the program.

Read

  • An Affair with Mr. Kennedy by Jillian Stone – I’m pretty sure I picked this up due to one of Sarah’s Kirkus Review columns. I enjoyed it. A gritty Victorian era romance.
  • Charlie All Night by Jennifer Crusie – This is one of her older titles and I’m a bit surprised I didn’t read it before, but I didn’t remember it at all. It’s an enjoyable read, and definitely in Crusie’s style.
  • New York to Dallas by JD Robb – I was a bit behind in the series and I wanted to get this read so I could read, at the time, the newest release in the series. I had been listening to this series on audio from the library, but this was a bit hard to get my hands on. This is definitely one of the best books in the series, and one of the more powerful. You do need to have an understanding of Eve’s, and to a lesser extent Roarke’s, background in order to fully appreciate it.
  • Celebrity in Death by JD Robb – I read this right after NY2D, and it was a bit of a palate cleanser from the tougher subject matter of NY2D. For all that it’s a murder mystery, it was a fun read.
  • Timeless by Gail Carriger – The conclusion to The Parasol Protectorate series. There were some surprises in the book, and I was sad to say goodbye to the series. I’m looking forward to Carriger’s upcoming series, and I may even check out the YA-targeted one.
  • A Night Like This by Julia Quinn – Latest in the Smythe-Smith series and I got it as an eARC from the publisher. Loved it. Quinn is like romance candy for me. Quick, enjoyable and classic Quinn. (Releases 5/29.)
  • The Prophet by Amanda Stevens – Mmmm…loved this. Even better (for me) is that the series is continuing. This was another eARC from the publisher. For those who enjoy paranormal mysteries, I highly recommend it.
  • Skies of Fire by Zoe Archer – Another eARC from publisher. I am totally hooked on Archer. This is more steampunky than her print series. It still has her strong sense of adventure, and I highly recommend it.
  • Scandal Wears Satin by Loretta Chase – Again, eARC from publisher. This is yet another fabulous book from Chase. She doesn’t shy away from the challenges of a nobleman falling in love with and wanting to marry someone who works for her wages, and I really appreciate that about her writing. Releases end of June.
  • Heartwishes by Jude Deveraux – This came across my desk at work and it’s been a while since I’ve read Deveraux. There were some issues I had with the story, but Deveraux’s writing voice drew me in. I may need to grab the other books in the series.
  • Alien Diplomacy by Gini Koch – I m in love with this series! It’s a great mix of science fiction, action/adventure, romance and humor. I particularly enjoyed this one as it’s set in Washington, DC where I now live.
  • Along Came a Duke by Elizabeth Boyle – I got this as an ARC at the Public Library Association conference. I’ve been interacting with Elizabeth online for a couple of years now, but this was the first book of hers that I read. It took me a while to finish reading it, but I stuck with it. Part of why I kept putting it aside was that there was a lot going on with me at the end of March and beginning of April. I think the fact that I stuck with it says a lot. I really enjoyed it and am looking forward to the remaining stories in the series.
  • The Witness by Nora Roberts – I was up *way* late reading this. I could not put it down until I finished. I don’t know that I would call this my favorite book by her, but it’s definitely up toward the top of the list.
  • Lethal Rider by Larissa Ione – I got this as an ARC from the publisher and, wheeeee!!! Ione’s writing voice really makes this series work for me, and makes me trust her as a storyteller.

Reread

  • Faking It by Jennifer Crusie – This is one of my favorite Crusie books and I just love Davy and Tilda.
  • Mr. Perfect by Linda Howard – Part of the reread jag of Howard books that I started back in January. This is one of her more humorous books and stands up solidly even after more than a decade.

Listened to

  • A River in the Sky by Elizabeth Peters – A very enjoyable listen as I drove out Chicago from DC. I appreciate being able to check in with the Emerson family and friends. This one was set outside of Egypt and in the future state of Israel, so it was interesting for the change of venue.

Novella

  • Bobbie Faye’s Whacked Out, No Good, Really Sucky, Hot Mess of a Wedding by Toni McGee Causey (part of the Guns and Roses anthology from the Murder She Writes collective) – The finale story of the Bobbie Faye series. I was sad to see the series end as it was a lot of fun, but I was also happy with how Causey wrapped it all up.
  • Natural Evil by Thea Harrison – Part of her Elder Races world. The setup was fun and I’m looking forward to more of the novellas.
  • A Gentlewoman’s Pleasure by Portia da Costa – I love da Costa’s Ladies’ Sewing Club series and I recommend it to anyone who enjoys historical-set erotic fiction.
  • Angel’s Wolf in Angels’ Flight collection by Nalini Singh – Great follow up story to a side character in Archangel’s Kiss.

Total read in February, March & April: 21
Total read in 2012: 34

Leave a Reply

Categories

