Posted by: Katie | June 28, 2012

May books

I’m writing this at the end of June, so I won’t be adding in the watchlist. My reading pace for May appears to be on track for how I averaged in the three months previous. Considering that I was still in the middle of conference season at the time, this doesn’t surprise me. I did finally finish another audiobook, however with my commute considerably shortened, as well as the lack of any major roadtrips on the horizon, I don’t see it picking up any time soon. I’m far from giving them up, especially as I can listen as I knit, but I won’t be consuming them in the same quantities as I used to.

Read

  • Overseas by Beatriz Williams – I received this as an ARC from the publisher, which I requested after seeing a bunch of my fellow romance reading friends talk about how taken they were with it on Twitter. I was hooked with the World War I aspect to the story. This was a fun read, and perfect for summer reading. The bonus for me was that I got to meet Beatriz at Book Expo American and had a wonderful chat with her about the book. I’ll be curious to see what she does next. Out now.
  • Crystal Gardens by Amanda Quick – I think I’ve mentioned this before, but Quick is candy for me in all her incarnations. This is the first of her new Quick-alone (ie. not crossing worlds with her Jayne Ann Krentz & Jayne Castle identities) series. I enjoyed it. It’s not one of her stand out titles, but it’s a solid one.
  • The Great Escape by Susan Elizabeth Phillips – Another ARC from the publisher. This is the sequel to last year’s Call Me Irresistible. Oh. My. God. Everything I found irritating about the storytelling choices in CMI were addressed in TGE. This was so good. I can easily see this as the book that SEP fans will hold up as their favorite, or at least in their top 5. Out July 10th.
  • The Ugly Duchess by Eloisa James – I’ve gotten really hooked on James in the last couple of years. While this story was mostly satisfying for me, it lacked a bit of spark. I can’t pin down exactly what it was, but I think it was the length of the time it took for the story to unfold. While the choices of the characters were well-supported, those choices made me feel a bit not invested in them. I think, if those choices had been brought up as backstory rather than told as part of the story, I would have been more invested in the characters surviving as a couple. As it was, the doubt of their success of their HEA was there. Out August 28th.
  • First Grave on the Right by Darynda Jones – I read this as part of Sarah’s RITA Reader Challenge. I really enjoyed this and am looking forward to the rest of the series. It totally hit my sweet spots for urban fantasy with strong romantic elements.

Reread

  • None

Listened To

  • Silent in the Grave by Deanna Raybourn – I had been meaning to read this since it first came out in 2007. I started listening to it on the way back from the RT convention in April, but didn’t get around to finishing it until almost a month later. Despite the lag time, I was able to remember what was going on since the last time I’d listened. I really enjoyed the story and am looking forward to listening to the rest of the series.

Novella

  • Kilts & Kraken by Cindy Spence Pape – This was another ARC I received from the publisher. I’ve read the rest of the series and I really enjoy the spin Pape is putting into her fantasy steampunk world. I really hope she’s got more stories planned! Out now.

Total read in May: 7
Total read in 2012: 41

Leave a Reply

Categories

