Posted by: Katie | February 1, 2013

January reads

I’ve gotten so bad at both posting on time and having an updated list on what’s coming out, that I’m not going to make a point of doing the watchlist unless there’s something particularly big for me that I’m looking forward to. So, with that, I’m also adding in notations for which kids books I’ve read. These are mainly going to be picture books, and ones that cross my desk at work. And, no, once again, I am not a children’s/YA librarian 🙂 I am a sucker for a good picture book, though.

Read

  • And the Miss Ran Away with the Rake by Elizabeth Boyle – eARC provided by publisher. I really enjoyed this. I had started it while in a reading funk, so had set it aside, but came back after the holidays and it hit the spot. Sequel to Along Came a Duke. I’m looking forward to the next book in the Kempton Brides series!
  • Shadow Woman by Linda Howard – I’d gotten an eARC from the publisher, but didn’t get around to reading it before it expired, so I got this copy from the library. I enjoyed this. It’s definitely more on the suspense end of her romantic suspense spectrum, like Cover of Night.
  • Dream Eyes by Jayne Ann Krentz – I got a paper ARC of this through the LibraryThing Early Reviewers program. Very enjoyable, but I also freely admit that JAK in all her incarnations is one of my crack authors.

Reread

  • A Fine Passion by Stephanie Laurens – Part of the Bastion Club series. I’d forgotten how much I enjoyed this particular entry. In fact, I think that this is the one that hooked me into the series despite being in the middle of it. I’d tried the first, but lost interest and had decided that this series may just not work for me. I came back via this one, I think, and ended up on a binge of the ones that were out at the time.
  • Temptation and Surrender by Stephanie Laurens – Part of the Cynster series spin offs. This is the first time I’ve reread it, and definitely enjoyable.

Listened to

  • Notorious Nineteen by Janet Evanovich – Like all of the recent entries in this series, very little to no character development, and while Stephanie seems to acknowledge these days that a choice needs to be made about her relationship status (I contend there are four possibilities: Joe, Ranger, both, neither), she continues to refuse to actually do anything about it. Seriously, the only reasons to continue with the series is if you like the situational humor and, for me, the narrator, Lorelei King.

Novella

  • None

Children’s

  • The Fantastic Flying Books of Mr. Morris Lessmore by William Joyce – This was actually my first completed read of 2013. This is absolutely fabulous and a book I want to get for my mom, also a librarian, so she can share it with my nephews and niece.
  • There Goes Ted Williams: The Greatest Hitter Who Ever Lived by Matt Tavares – An interesting biography of one of my baseball heroes. It’s got a great lesson for kids on the importance of spending time working on things you love to do in order to get better at it.
  • Brothers at Bat: The True Story of an Amazing All-Brother Baseball Team by Audrey Vernick – I read this right after the Ted Williams book and this was a great complement to it.
  • Fifty Cents and a Dream: Young Booker T. Washington by Jabari Asim – I learned a lot about Booker T. Washington when I was a kid in school, but I’m not sure how he’s taught these days. This is a neat book in that it focuses tightly in on Washington’s journey to attend formal school as a kid.
  • Each Kindness by Jacqueline Woodson – This book doesn’t shy away from having a message, but at the same time, the author isn’t heavy handed with it.

Total read in January: 11
Total read in 2013: 11

Responses

  1. I also like Lorelei King and hear plenty of her when we watch Bob the Builder…


Leave a Reply

Categories

