Posted by: Katie | August 4, 2013

March through July reads

Well, that absence was unexpected. It’s hard enough to get a monthly list posted in a reasonable time frame. When I miss a month, the pressure makes me feel even worse. When I miss a month and the “catch up” time to post is crazy with conferences, I obviously kissed it goodbye.  Didn’t really think I’d let it slide this long though. Anywhoodle, despite the long time frame, not much has been read. This is partially due to my schedule going crazy busy for six weeks in April & May. Point of fact, I did not read any new-to-me novels in April. I was a bit worried about the onset of another depressive episode when I realized that in May. Then in June, I made it a priority to start writing fiction again. Reading time got replaced by writing time until I realized I was really missing reading and the relaxation it gave me in July. I’m still not reading much, but I’ve got more mental energy with which to accomplish it. The writing is trucking along beautifully, though!

Read

  • Dangerous Refuge by Elizabeth Lowell – ARC from publisher – I had to remind myself what this was about, but once I did, I remembered a good chunk of the story perfectly. Enjoyable read for those who like romantic suspense.
  • Cards & Caravans by Cindy Spencer Pape – Steampunk fantasy, part of a series. I liked it, but due to the way the story’s set up, I don’t think non-fans of the story would get as much out of it as those who have read at least the preceding story.
  • The Taming of Ryder Cavanaugh by Stephanie Laurens – ARC from publisher – I really enjoyed this book, but I’m a sucker for Laurens. This felt like one of her stronger Cynster stories.
  • A Hundred Summers by Beatriz Williams – ARC from publisher (also offered by the author if I couldn’t get it from the publisher) – I love Williams’ voice. This story did not have the paranormal element that her debut book did, but I think she did a great job in exploiting once again the parallel-storytelling style she used in Overseas to great effect. Definitely for historical fiction fans who enjoy a strong romance element.
  • Love Irresistibly by Julie James – Continuation of her FBI/US Attorney series. Loved this one!
  • True to the Law by Jo Goodman – Very enjoyable western romance.
  • City of Lost Dreams by Magnus Flyte – ARC from publisher – Interesting. The sequel to last years “City of Lost Magic” and continues with the cracktastic authorial voice. The characters are visibly experiencing growth, and I’m kind of hoping there will be more to come.
  • Skies of Gold by Zoe Archer – ARC from publisher – I found out this past week from the author that this will be the last in the Ether Chronicles series. I’m a bit sad as I’ve really enjoyed the adventure in them. In all the books I’ve read by her, Archer has always created heroines who are strong and empowered. I really felt she hit a pinnacle of the type with the heroine of this book as she has been dealt some severe blows in life but is focusing on her future, with or without the hero.
  • The Sum of All Kisses by Julia Quinn – ARC from publisher – The latest in the Smythe-Smith quartet, this one features a romance of enemies, and people who have to come to terms with aspects of themselves that they don’t particularly like. Enjoyable. It could be read apart from the others in the series as there’s enough backstory to explain what’s happened up until this point, but I think the reader might best enjoy it having read the previous books.

Reread

  • The Ideal Bride by Stephanie Laurens
  • Soulless by Gail Carriger
  • Cry Wolf by Patricia Briggs
  • Hunting Ground by Patricia Briggs
  • Fair Game by Patricia Briggs

Listened to

  • Wild Ride by Jennifer Crusie and Bob Mayer – relisten
  • Maybe This Time by Jennifer Crusie – relisten
  • Northern Lights by Nora Roberts – relisten
  • Chesapeake Blue by Nora Roberts – relisten
  • The Perfect Poison by Amanda Quick – relisten
  • Don’t Look Back by Amanda Quick – I’ve read this in print before, and I think it might also be a relisten. Second in Lake & March series.
  • Late for the Wedding by Amanda Quick – Same as Don’t Look Back. Third in Lake & March series.
  • Silent on the Moor by Deanna Raybourn – Obtained through work.

Novella

  • The Mad Earl’s Bride – ARC from publisher – This is the ebook version of this novella which has been in and out of print for I think around 10 years. It’s connected to “Lord of Scoundrels” and “The Last Hellion” as Bertie Trent is a featured character. Very enjoyable.
  • Tethered by Meljean Brook – Continuation story of Archimedes and Yasmeen from “Heart of Steel”. Loved it.
  • Beauty and the Blacksmith by Tessa Dare – I loved this story of a well-to-do young lady falling for and needing to convince the town blacksmith that she wants a life with him.
  • Wrecked by Meljean Brook – In the Fire & Frost anthology and part of the Iron Seas world. I really liked this side story that explored the effects of technology when it is used for both good and evil.
  • Alpha and Omega by Patricia Briggs – reread.
  • The Wicked by Thea Harrison – Part of the Elder Races world. I love seeing these side stories that give added depth to stories begun in the main series. This one is a continuation of events that started in “Serpent’s Kiss”.

Children’s

  • Back to Front and Upside Down by Claire Alexander – Great for kids dealing with dyslexia.
  • How to Babysit a Grandpa by Jean Reagan – Fun. I’m planning on getting this for my niece and nephews.

Total read March through July: 30
Total read in 2013: 49

Leave a Reply

Categories

