Posted by: Katie | October 3, 2013

September books

Last month was a pretty good reading month for me considering how busy I was during it. With the exception of Labor Day weekend, I was out doing things every weekend of the month for the whole weekend. That I was able to read as much as I did, I’ll count as a total win.

Read

  • Delusion in Death by JD Robb – Really enjoyed this entry into the series. Definitely more mystery-heavy, and fairly gruesome details of the crimes.
  • Lost Lake by Sarah Addison Allen – ARC received from the publisher – I *love* Allen’s previous books and this is her first after dealing with breast cancer. The romance in this one was lighter than in some of the previous titles, and there were parts where I was ugly crying. So, yeah, good book. Out in February.
  • No Good Duke Goes Unpunished by Sarah Maclean – ARC provided by publisher – Another author I really love. This is the latest in her Rules of Scoundrels series. There were some really sweet parts of this story that went along with the spicy. Sarah’s definitely going to be nominated for awards with this one. The epilogue beyond the first page of it is embargoed, so I’m looking forward to when it releases in November to discover the true identity of the last Scoundrel.
  • Delia’s Shadow by Jaime Lee Moyer – ARC provided by publisher – This was an unusual story. I enjoyed the author’s voice, and the premise of a serial killer in 1915 San Francisco. I had some issues with the structure of the story because of the glossing over of certain time frames. Mainly, the trainsitions in places were not as smooth as they could have been. However, definitely for those who like historical mysteries wih paranormal and romantic elements.

Reread

  • Ten Things I Love About You by Julia Quinn – Reread of one of my favorite stories by Quinn. Sebastian rocks as a hero.

Listened to

  • What Happens in London by Julia Quinn – I’d actually forgotten this was the prequel to Ten Things until I started listening to it. Very sweet story, and the narrator was very good.
  • Dark Road to Darjeeling by Deanna Raybourn – Acquired through work. This was an interesting story due to the setting and the eventual perpetrator of the crime Lady Julia and Brisbane are investigating. I also admit to ugly crying in parts.

Novella

  • None

Childrens

  • None

Total read in September: 7
Total read in 2013: 61

Leave a Reply

Categories

