Posted by: Katie | November 2, 2013

October reads

Well, this year is definitely shaping up to be one of my lower reads in my recorded history. Which, for as long as I’ve been reading, isn’t all that long. I’m just thankful I’ve broken through the 1 book/week average mark. This month was a low month for me. In fact, tallying them up, this may take the record for the least amount read in a month since I started keeping track. Looking back at what happened during the month, it doesn’t surprise me. Things did pick up toward the end of the month, so that’s something. Also, all of my new reads were in series I particularly enjoy. While not my usual comfort of rereads, but a very close second.

Read

  • Calculated in Death by JD Robb – Definitely more on the mystery side of the series. I liked the plot and appreciated the weaving in of elements from previous stories. One of these days, I think I need to tackle a reread of the whole series…at least the novels.
  • Archangel’s Legion by Nalini Singh – Latest in her Guild Hunter series. I may have purposefully gone to bed extra early Monday night so I wouldn’t be tempted to open my ereader at midnight to frantically download my pre-ordered copy. As it was, I fought with my various devices on the way to work on Tuesday to get it to load on one of them so I could read on my commute. I adore this series, and think this was a great entry into it with the way it advanced the relationship with Elena and Raphael, while at the same time raising the stakes in the world they inhabit.

Reread

  • None

Listened to

  • Agnes and the Hitman by Jennifer Crusie and Bob Mayer – if you don’t know my feelings about this book by this point, you haven’t been reading this blog that long.

Novella

  • Dragos Takes a Holiday by Thea Harrison – ARC provided by author – I was giddy when I saw this went up for reviewers on one of the egalley sites, and even giddier when my request for it was approved. This is a favorite series of mine, and Harrison did not disappoint. When I finished it, I immediately went back and reread all of the parts with the Peanut. From an RA standpoint, I definitely would not hand this to someone who hasn’t at least read Dragon Bound and Lord’s Fall. Compared to those two, however, this is a very sweet story.

Children’s

  • None

Total read in October: 4
Total read in 2013: 65

Leave a Reply

Categories

