Posted by: Katie | December 31, 2013

November and December reads

Since I didn’t post November’s list on time, I figured I should probably get this post up a little early. Especially as I know I won’t be finishing any more books this year πŸ™‚ The majority (by a slight margin) of these were read in December. But that’s relatively easily explained by the fact I was writing the first draft of a novella at the start of November. Speaking of, the next post will be a reflective wrap up of the year.

Read

  • Kinked by Thea Harrison – Latest in her Elder Races series. Well worth the wait and very worthy of Aryal who I truly have enjoyed as a character since the first book.
  • The Luckiest Lady in London by Sherry Thomas – I started reading this at work when I was only supposed to be editing the annotation (rather than annotating it myself) the day before Thanksgiving, and promptly bought a digital copy so I could finish reading it on the plane home the next day. Loved it.
  • Long Live the Queen by Kate Locke – Latest in her Immortal Empire series. I really loved it and am curious where the series is going to go next. I hope there’s more to it!
  • Hostage by Kay Hooper – Latest in her Bishop/SCU/Haven series. Really enjoyed it. Got it from the library.
  • If Wishes Were Earls by Elizabeth Boyle – ARC provided by the publisher – Released today – Completion of her Rhymes with Love trilogy. I enjoyed it a lot. I had to set it down after I first started it, and I think that had more to do with my mental state rather than the story as I really wanted to continue reading it. Obviously, I did come back to it and finished πŸ™‚
  • Reaver by Larissa Ione – Latest in her Lords of Deliverance/Demonica series. Definitely better to read these stories in order as a lot of the base plot/characterization is built up in earlier novels. Really enjoyed and am looking forward to the next story.

Reread

  • None – Shocking. I know. Technically, I have been doing some rereading, but it’s mainly scenes rather than whole books. Though the two books in the next section are rereads.

Listened to

  • Manhunting by Jennifer Crusie – I got this through work, but it was the Brilliance edition. The narration was fine, and it was interesting to revisit Crusie’s earlier work.
  • Absolutely, Positively by Jayne Ann Krentz – Another one through work, but this was a work edition, so no comment on narration. This was from JAK’s iffy period for me, though I thought it was one of the better ones, and was the one that kept the spark alive through the low period. It’s kind of interesting to be reminded that while JAK’s core stories do age well, she becomes dated in clothing descriptions quickly.

Novella

  • Midsummer Night by Deanna Raybourn – Interim story in her Lady Julia series. Very enjoyable.
  • Silent Night by Deanna Raybourn – Interim story in Lady Julia series. Again very enjoyable.
  • The Principle of Desire by Delphine Dryden – #3 in her Science of Temptation series. Loved it!
  • The Seduction Hypothesis by Delphine Dryden – #2 in the Science of Temptation series. I’d forgotten I hadn’t read this yet until I started reading PoD. Obviously this is a series you don’t absolutely have to read in order, though the characters are all part of a close group of friends.

Children’s

  • Flying Solo: How Ruth Elder Soared into America’s Hearts by Julie Cummins – This is actually the last book I’ve completed reading. As I have a bit of a fascination with early aviators, especially those from the 1920’s, this was a fun little book. It’s got a great message of not letting a *huge* setback stop you from doing what you love.

Total read in November and December: 13
Total read in 2013: 78

Leave a Reply

Categories

