Posted by: Katie | May 8, 2014

February, March & April reads

I so meant to post this a lot earlier, and monthly! March and April turned into nutty months for me with schedule disruptions between library and romance conferences, moving into a new apartment, and a coworker retiring. For the most part I handled it well, and attributed my low reading level to being short on time to read. For the most part, it was. Were it not for audiobooks and novellas, I don’t know if I would have finished reading anything in March or April. However, as is often the case with me, my low reads also signified a brief bout of depression. Since I have noticed the trend in the past, I did consider if depression was part of the cause, but, of course, depression lies. It told me it was nowhere in the picture. My low reading was all due to stress and just not having enough time. Think Carol Kane in The Princess Bride shouting “LIAHR!” It wasn’t until a couple of weeks ago when I had the physical manifestations of depression (for me) with being unable to move my body when I knew I should be up doing something that I realized it was indeed depression I was dealing with. Thankfully for me, my bouts of depression are usually short-lived and the physical symptoms usually signal the end of them. I’m still stressed as alter ego will be at the RT convention next week, with a few days back in the office before heading out to Book Expo America which means May is virtually shot for me in terms of day job productivity. But! The depression has ebbed away so I’m feeling very positive and happy and am back to reading at a quicker pace.

Read

  • The Secret Life of Violet Grant by Beatriz Williams – ARC provided by publisher. I loved this! Beatriz’s storytelling style really works for me. I enjoy the dueling timelines with the way her writing voice works. This storytelling construct is a hard one for an author to pull off for me as a reader. I especially liked Violet’s story, and how there was a loose tie to “A Hundred Summers”. Out 5/27.
  • The Masterful Mr. Montague by Stephanie Laurens – ARC provided by publisher. I was a bit disappointed with this story, and I think it was because it would have worked better as a novella since the romance was no more than 50% of the story and it felt like it was supposed to be the primary reason for the book. However, I obviously finished it, so I think this might work best for established fans of Laurens. Part of her “The Casebook of Barnaby Adair” subseries.
  • Vixen in Velvet by Loretta Chase – ARC provided by publisher. A rousing end to her Dressmakers series. I’m looking forward to rereading it.
  • Loving Rose by Stephanie Laurens – ARC provided by publisher. This worked *a lot* better for me than Montague’s story. I think because the romance story line was given more time on the page than in Montague and you could really understand why the couple was together. If this is going to be a continuing series, which I wouldn’t be opposed to, I’m perfectly fine with it having a stable main cast solving a “case of the week” with a side of romance here and there. Part of her “The Casebook of Barnaby Adair” subseries.

Reread

  • None

Listened to

  • Northern Lights by Nora Roberts – annual-ish re-listen
  • Takedown Twenty by Janet Evanovich – Because I love listening to Lorelei King.
  • Affair by Amanda Quick – I got this through work, so no comment on narration. This one took me a while to get through, but definitely a story that I’d recommend to historical romance readers who like a suspense element and would prefer a story on the edges of the typical society setting.
  • Trust Me On This by Jennifer Crusie – No comment on narration. Older story of hers and you can see a lot of the themes she’d go on to develop in later books.
  • Maybe This Time by Jennifer Crusie – annual-ish relisten
  • Bet Me by Jennifer Crusie – annual-ish relisten

Novella

  • The Peculiar Case of Lord Finsbury’s Diamonds by Stephanie Laurens – Self-published and part of “The Casebook of Barnaby Adair” subseries. Tightly focused on the romance, and it worked well.
  • The Kraken King, part I: The Kraken King and the Scribbling Spinster by Meljean Brook – See below
  • The Kraken King, part II: The Kraken King and the Abominable Worm by Meljean Brook – See below
  • The Kraken King, part III: The Kraken King and the Fox’s Den by Meljean Brook – The first three parts of this serial set in the Iron Seas world is working very well for me. Brook ends each part with you craving more, but not about to go insane from waiting. I like how she’s crafted each installment to move the story forward, but allow the reader some closure of plot points and character motivations. A must read for anyone who enjoys adventure stories.

Children’s

  • Crankenstein by Samantha Berger – Definitely a book I want to pick up for my nephews and niece.

Total read in February, March, and April: 15
Total read in 2014: 22

Leave a Reply

Categories

