Posted by: Katie | September 1, 2014

June, July, and August Reads

These were relatively low read months. While there were some touches of depression in there, which always lowers my reading output, I was also very busy with writing a novel, editing it, a number of family visits, and the RWA conference. Overall I’m pleased with the amount I did manage to read! Still no additions to the listened to list, but that’s mainly because the time that I usually would spend listening to audiobooks is being spent listening to podcasts and recordings from the RWA conference.

Read

  • In Want of a Wife by Jo Goodman – I liked revisiting the Bitter Springs setting. It’ll be interesting to see if Goodman goes back again for her next novel.
  • The Mystery Woman by Amanda Quick – I probably should have read this closer to the publication date as I was trying to recall connections between it and the related book, Crystal Gardens.
  • Written in Red by Anne Bishop – I finally read this in full. I’d skimmed it earlier in the year for work. Addictive.
  • Heroes Are My Weakness by Susan Elizabeth Phillips – ARC provided by publisher – While I was able to fall into the story because of SEP’s writing, I was getting really annoyed by the main characters. Right at the point where I was about to give up on it, the story came together.
  • The Viscount Who Lived Down the Lane by Elizabeth Boyle – ARC provided by publisher – I enjoyed the slow build of the romance and the drawing out of the hero from his self-imposed isolation. Very well done!
  • Dreams of Lilacs by Lynn Kurland – It’s been a while since I’ve read one of LK’s books, and I really need to go back and read the ones I’ve missed. DoL reminded me of why I started reading LK in the first place.
  • Mercy by HelenKay Dimon – This was an interesting book for me. I had to keep setting it down as the emotions ran high. I’m kind of glad it took me a while to read as I don’t have to wait that long for the sequel!
  • Deception Cove by Jayne Castle – Enjoyable fast (for me) read.

Reread

  • Cry Wolf by Patricia Briggs – Annual reread. So good.
  • Hunting Ground by Patricia Briggs – See above.
  • Fair Game by Patricia Briggs – See above.

Listened to

  • None

Novella

  • Take Me by Maisey Yates – Intense quick story.
  • Alpha and Omega by Patricia Briggs – Prequel to the novels above. I’m totally blaming Nalini Singh for this reread as she suggested that she needed to do a reread when the cover for the next book was posted.
  • Fanning the Flames by Victoria Dahl – Dirty, dirty, dirty librarian and firefighter. *LOVED* this story!

Children’s

  • How to Cheer Up Dad by Fred Koehler – Very cute. May need to be bought for the niecelet and toddler nephew.
  • This Is a Moose by Richard T. Morris – Loved this picture book. The now-school-aged nephews may even appreciate it.
  • The Lion and the Bird by Marianne Dubuc – Very European in design and story.
  • Extraordinary Jane by Hannah E. Harrison – Very cute story featuring a dog.
  • How the Meteorite Got to the Museum by Jessie Hartland – Loved this. For those who like repetition in their picture books.

Total read in June, July, and August: 19
Total read in 2014: 53

Leave a Reply

Categories

