Posted by: Katie | October 2, 2014

September reads

I went on a bit of a reading binge this last month as you’ll see. Well worth it.

Read

  • The Hot Zone by Jayne Castle – The latest in her Rainshadow arc on the Harmony world. Very quick read for me.
  • Night’s Honor by Thea Harrison – Interesting entry into the Elder Races series. I would definitely recommend reading this book before the next one, but I don’t think you necessarily have to read any of the other ER books before this one.
  • The Rook by Daniel O’Malley – I read this for a book club I’m in. Yes, shocker, I’m actually reading assigned books. This hooked me in while I was at the beach, and I could barely put it down. It (along with a few other books) has helped me to realize that I’m a definite sucker for procedural mysteries with a sf/fantasy bent.
  • Why Mermaids Sing by C.S. Harris – Third in the Sebastian St. Cyr series. I’d set this aside back in May or so for various reasons, and decided to give it another shot as I was feeling a bit hungover from The Rook. Definitely enjoyable, as this really felt like the overarching story of Sebastian gelled together. The primary mystery might include triggers for some people.
  • Never Judge a Lady by Her Cover by Sarah MacLean – ARC provided by the publisher – I *may* have been stalking Edelweiss for this book. A fabulous conclusion to her Rules of Scoundrels series.
  • Where Serpents Sleep by C.S. Harris – Fourth in the Sebastian St. Cyr series.
  • What Remains of Heaven by C.S. Harris – Fifth in the Sebastian St. Cyr series.
  • Where Shadows Dance by C.S. Harris – Sixth in the Sebastian St. Cyr series.
  • When Maidens Mourn by C.S. Harris – Seventh in the Sebastian St. Cyr series.
  • What Darkness Brings by C.S. Harris – Eight in the Sebastian St. Cyr series. I gorged on this and the previous four in a little over a week’s time. I haven’t had a series read like that in some time, and I had fun doing it.
  • Why Kings Confess by C.S. Harris – Ninth in the Sebastian St. Cyr series.
    • After marathoning this series here are some observances:
      • Harris has stock phrases and passages for describing the main characters that appear in almost every book. I think it was because I was marathoning, I was able to gloss more easily over these. If I were reading the series with a longer period of time between each book, I think I’d be frustrated with the amount of words wasted in describing the characters in exactly the same manner as in previous books.
      • I love Hero. I really enjoy Sebastian, too, but I think Hero is the reason why I’m committing to continue reading the series.
      • I appreciate the length of time elapsed in the overall storyline to allow some change in the characters, and I’ll be curious to see where Harris takes them with the significant change in circumstances at the end of book nine.

Reread

  • None

Listened to

  • None

Novella

  • None

Children’s

  • You Are Not Small by Anna Kang – Very cute book to show kids how size is relative.
  • Elizabeth, Queen of the Seas by Lynne Cox – This is a great book for kids who enjoy animal stories.
  • Little Elliot, Big City by Mike Curato – I like how the author showed how you can still extend a kind hand even if you feel you haven’t been treated kindly.
  • I Am Jazz by Jessica Herthel – *Fabulous* book about identifying as transgender at a very young age. Very matter-of-fact and good for helping kids develop empathy for people different from them in any manner.

Total read in September: 15
Total read in 2014: 68

Leave a Reply

Categories

