Posted by: Katie | January 12, 2015

Reads of 2014 Wrap Up

First, there *was* an accounting error. Yes, I hear you all laughing. I record my reads in LibraryThing and while it is usually very good at searching, there is some “loss” of hits. They very nicely display how many titles are associated with a particular tag, and when I totalled my 2014 tags, I was 4 books short with what I had recorded here. Three of the “missing” books were from October. Here are all of the missing books:

  • Playing Dirty by HelenKay Dimon (Read, Oct.) – ARC provided by publisher. Astute readers will have noted that I did refer to this book in the October/November list when I noted reading Running Hot, the prequel novella. I really enjoyed PD, and especially liked the heroine, Shay. Frankly, I was a bit jealous of her as well as HelenKay’s description of the hero, Ford, had me all drooly. Out in two weeks!
  • First Frost by Sarah Addison Allen (Read, Oct.) – ARC provided by publisher. This is the direct sequel to Allen’s first book, Garden Spells, which I loved. I also loved this book and appreciated the growth of the characters as this story happens about ten years after the events of GS. Definitely recommended for fans of sweet stories who can handle light fantasy elements. Out next week!
  • Natural Law by Joey W. Hill (Reread, Oct.) – I don’t think I noted this book when I first read it back in 2012. This is a book not for the faint of heart. There are deep BDSM elements that may make readers uncomfortable. I appreciated how Hill handled the emotional motivations of the characters, and I also liked the romantic suspense subplot. On rereading it, I want to read the other books Hill has set in this world at some point.
  • Wild Ride by Jennifer Crusie and Bob Mayer (Listened to, Dec.) – Annual-ish re-read which I’ve talked about before.

So, with the addition of these books, my total reads for 2014 was 93. The breakdown between my five categories are:

  • Read – 44 (Third lowest annual amount, and 12 more than last year which was the lowest annual amount.)
  • Reread – 10 (Dead middle annual amount since I’ve been keeping track, and also half of the highest total.)
  • Listened to – 8 (Second lowest annual amount. Third lowest amount is nearly double this.)
  • Novella – 19 (Highest annual amount.)
  • Children’s – 12 (Highest annual amount, but I only started keeping track of this category in 2013.)

I’d say that this year was on the low end of my average range of reading. I was actually expecting it to be the lowest amount, partially due the the short bouts of depression that I dealt with through the course of the year, and also because of the amount of time I spent writing my own fiction this last year. I wrote three full novels of varying lengths, a couple of novellas, and a couple of short stories. Most of which will remain unpublished. That writing time cut into my reading time, so the fact that I managed to have an “average-ish for me” year in terms of reading is a win.

For 2015, I’m making a point to dial back on my reading. This is more because I realized around Christmas that I may finally be experiencing a bit of burnout with my preferred genre, romance, after 25 years of reading it. I’m in no way going to quit reading it, but I’m also not going to give it priority when deciding what to read next. I fully expect a lot of my reads to have some kind of romantic element to them as I do tend to enjoy a story better when that’s present, but I predict the majority of new-to-me authors to be in genres outside of romance.

That’s my 2014 in reading, for what I keep track of at least. How was yours?

Leave a Reply

Categories

