Posted by: Katie | February 20, 2015

Monthly Twitter chats for RWA15 First-Timers

**EDITED: THERE WILL BE NO MORE SCHEDULED CHATS BEFORE THE CONFERENCE. IF YOU HAVE A QUESTION, THOUGH, USE THE HASHTAG #RWA1st AND I WILL TRY TO ANSWER/GET YOU AN ANSWER.

Saturday Night Live has the Five Timers Club, but everyone has to have a first time. I still remember my first time at RWA in Chicago, 1999. I was *fresh* out of college, and even fresher out of a semester abroad in England. I had absolutely no freaking clue what was going on. I had been given vague ideas from friends on the Nora Roberts chat board, but there was so much that people told me about at the conference that I wasn’t prepared for. These still way fresh for as old as they are memories, along with some conversations I observed on Twitter prompted me to propose monthly chats for first timers.

The way I envision these chats happening is that we collate everything under the #RWA15 tag along with #RWA1st. They will happen for one hour and will have varying start times on varying days of the week. I will Storify all of the tweets so people can refer back to them. First timers and “old” timers are encouraged to participate as it’s us “old” timers who will have the answers to the first timers’ questions. I’m doing this all on my own and this is in no way sponsored or endorsed by RWA.

The first chat will happen today at 4 pm Eastern/3 pm Central, etc., but I reserve the right to call out for another chat later next week. Future dates and times will be announced on Twitter with ample notice.

Storified chats:

  • February (2/20/15)
  • March – not storified, but happened on 3/19/15
  • April and May (mostly) (4/15/15 & 5/26/15)
  • July (7/6/15)
Leave a Reply

Categories

