Posted by: Katie | July 6, 2015

May and June Reads

:Phew: I thought I had to write up all of March and April in addition to May and June. I’m not as much of a slacker as I thought I was! Looking through the list of what I finished in May and June is not fully lining up with my sense of how much I read during the two months. Thinking it over, I started a lot of books, skimmed many more, and reread certain favorite passages as needed. In some ways, I miss being a huge consumer of books because I *KNOW* I read a lot more when I was younger. But I also had much more time I could dedicate solely to reading. Seeing how much I *do* accomplish to read with my schedule as it is, it’s pretty darn good.

Read

  • Midnight’s Kiss by Thea Harrison – Interesting entry to her Elder Races series. I wasn’t sure I was going to like the hero because he was the antagonist in previous books, but the mark of a good storyteller is to reveal the truths each character hides from those around him or her.
  • Garden of Lies by Amanda Quick – Enjoyable, especially for those who prefer a strong mix of romance and mystery as well as older heroes and heroines.
  • A Match for Marcus Cynster by Stephanie Laurens – I really liked this and think it might towards the top of my list of preferred Cynster books.
  • Secret Sisters by Jayne Ann Krentz – This really struck a chord in me and I think it’s going to be a big hit when it comes out. I’ve long enjoyed JAK/AQ/JC, but this felt like her voice had been dusted off and shined up. Out in December, ARC gotten at Book Expo.
  • Suddenly One Summer by Julie James – Julie once again hit it out of the park for me, and I had to go back and reread one of her earlier books which this was the direct spin-off from.
  • When a Scot Ties the Knot by Tessa Dare – I’m really loving Tessa’s Castles Ever After series, and this is another great one. I’m finding that Tessa is gorgeously subtle about easter eggs for romance fans, and I can’t wait to see the response to this one. eARC received from publisher.

Reread

  • The Substitute Bridegroom by Charlotte Louise Dolan – I first read this in high school and had a yen to read her books again. I think CLD isn’t as well known to romance fans as she should be, but this series of books really pushed the boundaries of their subgenre at the time they were published. Woman who is hampered by her status as a beauty and her relationship with her unexpected husband, a soldier.
  • Three Lords for Lady Anne by Charlotte Louise Dolan – Strong, older heroine who hides her identity.
  • The Resolute Runaway by Charlotte Louise Dolan – A  young woman who sees herself as a mouse, but is really a tiger on the inside.
  • The Black Widow by Charlotte Louise Dolan – A young woman has a reputation for losing her finacees, but the newest man interested in her realizes there’s something amiss.
  • Love Irresistibly by Julie James – The conflict really is about finding the right work/life balance.
  • The Lady Risks All by Stephanie Laurens – There was a reference in one of her newer books that made me want to reread this. Very enjoyable.
  • The Elusive Bridegroom by Stephanie Laurens – And I had to track back a bit more thanks to the previous reread.

Listened to

  • Top Secret Twenty-One by Janet Evanovich – Read by Lorelie King and as usually she had me in tears from laughter at parts.
  • Murder on the Orient Express by Agatha Christie – Read by Dan Stevens (aka Matthew Crawley). I picked this up on Scribd because I saw some friends on Twitter discussing it and how good a job he did at distinguishing the characters’ voices. He did a fabulous job with it. And as a fan of the Poirot TV series as well as the 1974 film adaptation of the book, he did his research. Stevens’ Poirot very much reminded me of David Suchet, while the bulk of the other characters reminded me of the actors who portrayed them in the film. Which is good as the only casting I hated in the 1974 film was of Albert Finney. So, if you can get your hands on this version of the audiobook, I highly recommend it. Also, Agatha Christie at her finest.

Novella

  • None

Children’s

  • None

Read in May & June: 15
Read in 2015: 34

Leave a Reply

Categories

