Posted by: Katie | January 2, 2016

A year of reading: 2015

I almost had some accounting errors because you know that I suck at being able to count correctly. When I originally toted up my counts using the 2015 tags in LibraryThing, I only had 75 books which would have been my lowest year since I began recording in 2007. Well, I missed a few books. I missed a couple in recording them in the appropriate tag (a few books that I both read *and* reread in 2015), as well as a couple of books that I reread twice over the course of the year. While I did properly note which month I had reread them, they are only recorded once for the purposes of the “reread2015” tag. I managed to sort all of that out before writing up the previous post, thankfully.

The biggest category note for me was the “listened to” section. I only completed listening to two audiobooks this year. This is by far the lowest amount of audiobooks I’ve listened to since I first bought my car in 2004 and was commuting in the Chicago area. I couldn’t believe I had listened to so little until I realized how many podcasts I listened to as well as all of the workshop recordings from the 2015 Romance Writers of America conference. All of those fall into the same category as audiobooks for me (spoken word recordings which are listened to while I’m walking to work/around the neighborhood as I’m exercising), and therefore take away from the amount of time I have to listen to audiobooks. I’m surprisingly okay with this as it’s hard for me to get some of my favorite series in digital download format from libraries due to distribution agreements (well, the lack thereof).

The other note is that my rereads of novels outstripped my reads of new-to-me novels. Admittedly, a few of my rereads were of the same books, but they were good. That reading funk I mentioned feeling in last year’s wrap up continued into this year. I did find some new-to-me authors like Rebekah Weatherspoon who I really enjoyed, but I didn’t seem to be able to fully break out of the funk. I fell back on books I knew I enjoyed because I needed that comfort. I’m hoping I can spend 2016 trolling for some more new-to-me authors, and I’ve got a few on my TBR pile waiting. At the same time, I refuse to beat myself up over the falling into a the reread rut because it means that I’m still reading. Sometimes you need to coast the wave of the familiar to cross over into new territory.

So, here are the stats:

  • Read – 30 novels – the lowest, by 2, since I began keeping stats. 2013 had the next lowest entry with 32.
  • Reread – 32 novels – the highest year since stats began by more than ten.
  • Listened to – 2 novels – the lowest by a good margin.
  • Novellas – 14 – dead middle of the pack.
  • Children’s – 2 – the lowest, but as this is an incidental category for me, not one I worry about.
Responses

  1. Hi there! I just wanted to say that I really enjoyed your post. To say it is great (not just this post, all of yours!) is an understatement. You are really talented (:
    Because of how much I loved this post I had to check out your blog and I couldn’t help but follow you because your blog is both amazing and beautiful! I am so happy I came across your blog and I can’t wait to read more from you, so keep it up (:
    By the way this comment is towards all of your blog posts because they are all equally amazing and incredible (:


Leave a Reply

Categories

