Posted by: Katie | January 2, 2016

July through December 2015 reads

A few corrections and revelations from earlier posts. The [REDACTED] by [REDACTED] book that I read in February was Taking the Heat by Victoria Dahl which released in July. I’m friends with Victoria and beta read it for her to make sure the library bits rang true (please direct any ire over that my way as I told her it read true to me). I *definitely* recommend it for the fact that it’s a very well-written book and I was in the middle of a depressive episode and it really lifted my spirits at a time that I needed them lifted. In the June post, I listed as having reread The Elusive Bridegroom by Stephanie Laurens. It’s The Elusive BRIDE. I’m blaming that error on the fact that I’d also listed The Substitute Bridegroom by Charlotte Louise Dolan as a reread.

As you can see from the following list, I did a *bunch* of series rereads in the latter half of the year. It was needed. I was surprised to see that I didn’t finish any audiobooks in this six month period, and then I remembered all of the podcasts and workshop recordings I’ve been listening to. I’ll go into this in a little more detail in my 2015 write up.

Read

  • Archangel’s Enigma by Nalini Singh – Naasir’s story. I’d been waiting on this story for a while and loved it so much. Nalini definitely knocked it out of the park.
  • Dukes Prefer Blondes by Loretta Chase – ARC provided by the publisher – This book hit all the right notes for me in such a way that I couldn’t read *anything* for a couple of days afterward. I think this one will end up being one of her better-known books.
  • Concealed in Death by J.D. Robb – I realized that I was heading down the slippery slope of getting too far behind in this series to catch up, so while I have the hardback of this and the others in the series, I bought it the digital copy because it’s easier to read with my commuter lifestyle. Very enjoyable.
  • Festive in Death by J.D. Robb – Enjoyed
  • Obsession in Death by J.D. Robb – Enjoyed.
  • Rock Redemption by Nalini Singh – I know some people had some issues with how this story played out, but I felt that Nalini supported the actions of the characters and I really loved seeing them finally come together.
  • The Muse by Anne Calhoun – So. Good. I think I started reading this on the day it released and I didn’t want to put it down. Anne is such a master of erotic romance.
  • Shadow’s End by Thea Harrison – Graydon’s book in The Elder Races series. On the spectrum of Urban Fantasy and Paranormal Romance, this leaned more toward UF. I say this because I felt like the balance of the romance storyline to the overarching storyline was more 60/40 rather than around 80/20. I think because I had recently come off a binge of Anne Bishop and Patricia Briggs, I was in a good place to still appreciate the story.
  • Troublemaker by Linda Howard – ARC provided by the publisher – O! M! G! Seal clapping. Squeeing. Wanting to immediately reread. I’ve been telling friends that this is in a similar style to Dream Man, Mr. Perfect, and Open Season, but LH’s voice is very fresh. Last night on Charlie Rose, I heard Tom Jones talking about having a “young ear” and paying attention to the sounds being created today. After reading Troublemaker, I feel like LH must have a similar philosophy because this read like an author who was firmly rooted in the “now” of the romance genre.
  • Falling Hard by HelenKay Dimon – Poor HelenKay has been a victim of my very fickly reading mood over the last year. I really enjoy her stories as I’m reading them, but I always seem to pick them up as I’m about to get slapped with a funk. Falling Hard is book 2 in the Bad Boys Undercover series and I really liked Wes and Lexi. Both were very up front with their feelings both to themselves and to the other person. HelenKay adroitly managed the tension of developing a romantic relationship while the pair is on the run by shining a bright big spotlight on the insanity of doing that with both main characters’ thoughts.
  • The Lady’s Command by Stephanie Laurens – First in her Adventurers Quartet series and loosely tied to the Bastion Club series. I enjoyed this. The main couple has already married by the start of the story, so it was interesting to see how their relationship developed in the “how do we work together as a married couple?” phase of the romance. I’m definitely reading the next book.

Reread

  • Ten Things I Love About You by Julia Quinn – This is one of my absolute favorites by JQ
  • Your Scandalous Ways by Loretta Chase – High on my list of rereads from LC’s backlist, partially because the heroine is an unapologetic courtesan and the hero loves her for it.
  • Faking It by Jennifer Crusie – Annual-ish reread of this story.
  • Angels’ Blood by Nalini Singh – I finally read this series in order! (I usually end up reading book 2 first because that was the one I read first to drive all of you series purists mad.) I love this series and world so hard, so I’m not going to expound much.
  • Archangel’s Kiss by Nalini Singh – Loved.
  • Archangel’s Consort by Nalini Singh – Loved.
  • Archangel’s Blade by Nalini Singh – This is the first time I’ve reread this book because it’s such a cry-fest for me. Seriously, Nalini knows where your heart is, rips it out, stomps all over it, and then gently places it back into your gaping chest cavity.
  • Archangel’s Storm by Nalini Singh – Another cry-fest especially at one point in the book.
  • Archangel’s Legion by Nalini Singh – Loved.
  • Archangel’s Shadows by Nalini Singh – Loved.
  • The List by Anne Calhoun – I binged on the series in loose anticipation of the release of The Muse.
  • Now You See Her by Linda Howard – I felt the need for a mini-LH reread binge even before I knew Troublemaker was coming out. Basically, I was missing her. When this book came out, I ended up owning three copies in hardback (2 were bought from the remainder pile in the book store) because I loved it so much.
  • Dream Man by Linda Howard – Loved.
  • Written in Red by Anne Bishop – Crack.
  • Murder of Crows by Anne Bishop – Crack, part 2.
  • Cry Wolf by Patricia Briggs – So good, but I really recommend reading Alpha and Omega first because the opening of CW flows so cleanly from the end of A & O.
  • Hunting Ground by Patricia Briggs – Loved.
  • Vision in Silver by Anne Bishop – Crack, part 3 which I had to wait on the digital copy to come available from my local library.
  • Fair Game by Patricia Briggs – Loved.
  • Dead Heat by Patricia Briggs – Loved.
  • Open Season by Linda Howard – I immediately read this after Troublemaker because I had to ease myself back into a non-LH reading zone.
  • Dukes Prefer Blondes by Loretta Chase – The last book I read in 2015 and I loved it as hard as I did the first time I read it. It took me a day and a half to even contemplate picking up another book.

Listened to

  • None

Novella

  • Fit by Rebekah Weatherspoon – An overweight heroine who works on the production side of a food-oriented show who falls in lust and love with her personal trainer who resembles a certain Norse god and has a very strong kinky side. So many checkbox ticks! I’ve been recommending this and the other two novellas in the trilogy since I read them. Rebekah goes into some hardcore BDSM lifestyle issues over the course of the trilogy, but she makes it very accessible to the average reader who is open to having that in their erotic romance.
  • Tamed by Rebekah Weatherspoon – Loved.
  • Sated by Rebekah Weatherspoon – *Really* loved, and this is definitely the one with the hardest of the BDSM elements in the trilogy.
  • Angel’s Flight by Nalini Singh – Reread. *SIGH*. Yes, that’s all you get.
  • Taken by HelenKay Dimon – This is a m/m story and one that had been building over the course of the previous two books in HKD’s Holton Woods series. I’m not really a reader of m/m, but I’d been looking forward to seeing this couple finally work out their issues, and I loved reading this. HelenKay has turned me into an m/m reader of the right author 😉
  • Afternoon Delight by Anne Calhoun – Reread. Seriously loved.
  • Evening Storm by Anne Calhoun – Reread. *Melts*
  • Hades by Larissa Ione – The latest in her series of side stories in the Demonica/Lords of Deliverance universe. I enjoyed it.
  • Dragos Goes to Washington by Thea Harrison – Fun with a little murder mystery.
  • Pia Does Hollywood by Thea Harrison – Zombies!
  • Alpha and Omega by Patricia Briggs – Reread. So good.
  • Liam Takes Manhattan by Thea Harrison – copy gift of author – Very sweet and an interesting bridge to what is shaping up to be the next phase of The Elder Races series.

Children’s

  • Supertruck by Stephen Savage – This is a cute little picture book that is a riff on Superman. I definitely recommend it for any child who’s intrigued by work vehicles.

Read in July through December: 46
Read in 2015: 80

Leave a Reply

Categories

