Posted by: Katie | February 7, 2016

January reads

2016 kicked off with a slew of rereads for me. I was still partially in a reading rut in that I found it hard to pick up books by new-to-me authors, and frequently new-to-me books period. I seem to be coming a bit out of that rut, but that’s not really reflected in my January reads. Most of these were also done in the first three weeks of the month. I barely read the last couple of weeks due to working on other writing-related projects. It’s a trade off I’m still evaluating.

Starting this year, I’m instituting a new feature in the all of the sections but the “Reread” section as it will only be for new-to-me titles. If a title makes me do what I call :SEAL CLAP: when I finish reading, it gets a star (*) after the title. These books are going to go on my end of the year “Best of” list, and will be added to the Book Recs page if the series is not already listed there.

Read:

  • Marked in Flesh* by Anne Bishop – ARC from publisher – This is the latest in Bishop’s Others series and will be out on March 8th. I’m really enjoying the story arc of this series and liked the way she incorporated deeper aspects of the world into the storyline. I’m *very* curious to see what will happen in the next book, which I’m expecting to be the last book as early marketing/promo for the series stated that it was to be a 5-book series.

Reread:

  • Rock Hard by Nalini Singh – This really is my favorite book in the series so far.
  • The Hampshire Hoyden by Michelle Martin – This is one of my all-time favorite books and I *frequently* recommend it to people looking for old-school category Regency romances. It riffs on a lot of Shakespeare, but mainly Much Ado About Nothing, which I didn’t realize until a few years ago despite having read MAAN around the same time as reading THH for the first time. As far as I know, it’s only available in the original print edition. Luckily I’ve had my copy for nearly 20 years. I’m *really* hoping Martin releases her backlist electronically at some point. She’s one of those authors who I wonder what happened to, though, as I haven’t seen any books in around 10 years now.
  • Crazy for You by Jennifer Crusie – I went on a Crusie binge because there was a sale on her 7 book omnibus from St. Martin’s. It’s been so long since I’ve reread this one in full that it wasn’t in my LT library that I use to record what I read. I’ve read bits and pieces of it periodically, though. If controlling/abusive romantic relationships are a trigger for you, tread lightly with this book. Quinn is a very strong woman and when she decides to get out of her relationship at the start of the book, she does it to the best of her ability. It’s the rest of the town that has trouble seeing her ex for what he really is, and even Quinn can’t believe it of him, but she’s not going to got back to a relationship she knows is wrong for *her*.
  • Tell Me Lies by Jennifer Crusie – This is another from Crusie’s period of women’s fiction with a romantic comedy tone. I enjoyed it and will probably go back to it again.
  • Fast Women by Jennifer Crusie – When I first read this book when it released, I remember thinking that I couldn’t imagine rereading. I’m glad I did now because I’m better able to position it within Crusie’s oeuvre and appreciate it for what it is: women’s fiction with a romantic comedy tone. Also, I’d forgotten that this story was loosely tied to Maybe This Time.
  • Maybe This Time by Jennifer Crusie – I’ve actually frequently listened to this in audio, but this may be the first, maybe second, time I’ve read it in “print”. Still a really fun read.

Listened to:

  • Tricky Twenty-Two by Janet Evanovich – I’m sticking with the library copy of Lorelie King reading the series for humor reasons. I honestly cannot tell you the plot of this story, though in terms of relationship development, there is teasing. I in no way trust Evanovich to carry through with what she teases in this book.

Novella:

  • Sated by Rebekah Weatherspoon – I think this is my favorite out of the entire trilogy of FIT novellas. It’s #3. Reread.
  • Tamed by Rebekah Weatherspoon – This one’s #2 and is probably my least favorite, but I still really enjoyed it. Reread.

Children’s:

  • None

Read in January: 10
Total read in 2016: 10

Leave a Reply

Categories

