Posted by: Katie | December 31, 2016

2016 Reading Roundup

So, I see I haven’t done the monthly update since March. Oof. You know that feeling of when you fall behind on something, and then it gets too overwhelming to catch up? Yeah, that. April is when conference season started for me, and that essentially lasted almost the rest of the year. Between April and May, I had four conferences packed into six weeks. June was essentially spent in a recovery coma where I did almost nothing. Looking back over my earlier monthly reads posts, I see a lot of rereads. Well, that trend definitely continued. I did read new and new-to-me books, but even many of those got tossed into the reread pile when I needed it. Sometimes multiple times. In some ways, I’m glad I’ve got as many rereads as I do because that means I felt mentally healthy enough to read, but I generally reread for comfort reasons, and 2016 gave me way too many instances of needing that comfort. I’m not going to list every single title I read since March, but I will talk about some highlights along with statistics.

April

The total isn’t surprising as this was the beginning of my crazy-making period of travel. In addition to the actual travel, I was trying to ensure that I accomplished 5 weeks of work in the 2 1/2 weeks I was actually in the office during the period between the first and third conferences as one of my coworkers was out on maternity leave so I couldn’t just leave the work to be done by my other coworkers.

  • Read: 1
  • Reread: 0
  • Listened to: 0
  • Novella: 1
  • Children’s: 0
  • Total: 2

May

Again, the total is unsurprising for reasons similar to April. I spent two weeks in Chicago between a conference work sent me to and personal time which included attending a writing conference in the area.

 

  • Read: 1
  • Reread: 0
  • Listened to: 1
  • Novella: 0
  • Children’s: 1
  • Total: 3

 

June

The first half of the month was spent in a daze recovering from April and May. It took me a couple of weeks to realize I was in the middle of a depressive episode. Thankfully, it passed quickly, and things started to pick up at the end of the month, both mental health-wise and reading-wise. Which, as I’ve noted in previous years are generally tied together.

 

  • Read: 4
  • Reread: 1
  • Listened to: 0
  • Novella: 1
  • Children’s: 0
  • Total: 6

 

July

The interesting thing to me about this month’s total is that I had two major trips in July. One was home for a family wedding, and the other was to San Diego for the RWA National conference. I’m going to talk about this in my highlights section, but while I was attending the conference, I was also gulping down a series by a new-to-me author. All the while being my social butterfly self.

 

  • Read: 11
  • Reread: 1
  • Listened to: 0
  • Novella: 1
  • Children’s: 0
  • Total: 13

 

August

This month’s total was primarily due to beginning a project related to the ALA Reading List Council. For those who don’t want to dig through the archives, I was on the inaugural committee and they will be announcing the 10th list in January at the ALA Midwinter meeting.

 

  • Read: 5
  • Reread: 5
  • Listened to: 1
  • Novella: 0
  • Children’s: 0
  • Total: 11

 

September

I spent most of my reading time finishing up the RLC project, and I’m glad I participated in it.

 

  • Read: 3
  • Reread: 8
  • Listened to: 0
  • Novella: 1
  • Children’s: 0
  • Total: 12

 

October

This total surprises me a bit, though I did have a conference in Seattle. Thinking back, I feel like I took my time with the books I was reading and not gobbling them down for whatever reason.

 

  • Read: 1
  • Reread: 4
  • Listened to: 0
  • Novella: 0
  • Children’s: 0
  • Total: 5

 

November

I’m going to put this baldly: my grandmother died on Halloween. We knew it was coming as she was 99 and had been in failing health for a while, particularly since I last saw her in July during an unexpected layover on my trip home from San Diego. I knew at that time it was likely going to be the last time I saw her alive. This month’s reading was all about retreating to a sense of comfort.

 

  • Read: 0
  • Reread: 10
  • Listened to: 0
  • Novella: 0
  • Children’s: 0
  • Total: 10

 

December

All but one of my new reads was an advanced reader copy provided to me by the publisher. Frankly, I was beginning to wonder if I was going to break out of my reread zone, and I’m glad I binged a bit on upcoming books.

 

  • Read: 5
  • Reread: 1
  • Listened to: 0
  • Novella: 0
  • Children’s: 0
  • Total: 6

2016

While I felt this year was dominated by rereads, and some months most definitely were, new/new-to-me books just edged them out. However, 12 of those new-t0-me books were reread at least once this year and 7 of those were reread twice. The interesting thing is that I began the year with a slew of rereads, and ended it with mostly new-to-me books, though the latter half of the year was primarily spent rereading.

 

  • Read: 40
  • Reread: 37
  • Listened to: 3
  • Novella: 9
  • Children’s: 4
  • Total: 93

So, Seal Claps for the year:

  • Marked in Flesh by Anne Bishop – read in January
  • Stay With Me Forever by Farrah Rochon – read in February
  • Act Like It by Lucy Parker – read in February
  • And Only to Deceive by Tasha Alexander – read in March
  • Agnes Moor’s Wild Knight by Alyssa Cole – read in June, novella. Even thinking back to reading this, I want to squee. This is a medieval set in Scotland during the tourney for a woman’s hand. The historical details were delicious, and felt true for the time.
  • The Undoing by Shelly Laurenston – read in June, novel. As soon as I finished reading this, I started rereading it. I loved Jace and Ski, and this was one of my absolute favorite books of the year.
  • Hot as Hades by Alisha Rai – read in July, novella. I am a *SUCKER* for retellings of the Hades/Persephone myth, and Alisha did a fabulous job with this one. Definitely one of my favorite retellings.
  • Do You Want to Start a Scandal by Tessa Dare – read in August, novel, ARC provided by publisher. This was a flat-out fun book. I really admire the way Tessa weaves in easter eggs of contemporary references without kicking you out of the historical setting of the story.
  • Archangel’s Heart by Nalini Singh – read in August, novel, ARC provided by publisher. I love the broader world Nalini is building with this series and every entry makes me wonder what’s going to happen in the next book. In this one, you find out more about Elena’s family history, and, man, the ugly crying. If you need an emotional catharsis, go read any one of these books.

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

